Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Bettye LaVette to release Bob Dylan covers album Things Have Changed

The album will arrive on 30th March via Verve Records.

Bettye LaVette
Credit: Mark Seliger

Legendary soul singer Bettye LaVette will release new album Things Have Changed via Verve Records on 30th March 2018.

The album, which is LaVette’s tenth and her first on a major label in almost 30 years, sees the singer take on the songs of Bob Dylan. Keith Richards and Trombone Shorty guest on the album, which is produced by Steve Jordan.

Things Have Changed spans more than five decades of Dylan songs from 1964’s The Times They Are A-Changin’ up to Ain’t Talkin’ from 2006 album Modern Times.

“Other people write songs, but he writes vignettes, more prose than poetry. I didn’t find his words to be pretty so much as they are extremely practical or extremely logical. He can work things like ‘go jump off a ledge’ into a song.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

LaVette has only met Dylan once, at a festival in Italy. Dylan was preparing to go on stage when the two met through an introduction by Dylan’s bassist Tony Garnier.

For Things Have Changed, LaVette has seriously transformed Dylan’s songs. “I had never really listened to It Ain’t Me Babe,” she says, “But I had to make it more dismissive—not fast and hard, but like a Jimmy Reed tune. And The Times They Are A-Changin, I had to flip that all the way around, so we worked up the groove on a beat box. That just made it extremely surprising.”

The album’s producer Jordan brought in top musicians including Dylan’s long-time guitarist Larry Campbell, bass virtuoso Pino Palladino, and keyboardist Leon Pendarvis.

The track listing for Things Have Changed is:

1. Things Have Changed
2. It Ain’t Me Babe
3. Political World
4. Don’t Fall Apart On Me Tonight
5. Seeing The Real You At Last
6. Mama, You Been On My Mind
7. Ain’t Talkin’
8. The Times They Are A-Changin’
9. What Was It You Wanted
10. Emotionally Yours
11. Do Right To Me Baby (Do Unto Others)
12. Going, Going, Gone

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


You May Also Like


Join us for a nostalgic tour of Granada's 1980s and 90s crime drama masterpiece.


Will we finally learn the identity of 'H'?


We pick the best deaths from the iconic franchise.


We rank the five best singles from the former One Direction star.


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you