Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Roy Orbison The Ultimate Collection coming in October

The release is the first career-spanning anthology of the legendary star.

Roy Orbison
Credit: Sheila Rock / Orbison Archives

Roy Orbison – The Ultimate Collection, the first career spanning anthology for the legendary artist, will be released on 28th October 2016.

A collaboration between Roy’s Boys LLC, the Nashville-based company founded by the sons of Roy Orbison to administer their late father’s catalog and safeguard his legacy, and Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, the release will be available as a single CD and as a double vinyl LP set.

The Ultimate Collection spans four decades, from his start at Sun Records in the mid 1950s, all the way through his massive comeback in the late ‘80s. It chronicles Orbison’s work both as a solo artist and with supergroup Traveling Wilburys until his tragic death at the age of 52.

The songs were selected by Roy’s son Alex, who picked them from 27 studio albums, four live albums and over 60 singles.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“It is a great honor for me and my brothers, Wesley and Roy Jr., to finally and definitively distill our father’s entire career onto a single disc as best one can possibly do and, certainly, as never done before,” said Alex. “It is the result of years of research, archiving and listening, and it is with supreme and heartfelt pleasure that we will be able to share it with the world.”

The Ultimate Collection was produced by Alex Orbison, Chuck Fleckenstein and John Jackson, and mastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios in New York.

The track listing is:

1. Oh, Pretty Woman
2. I Drove All Night
3. You Got It
4. Crying
5. Only The Lonely
6. In Dreams
7. Love Hurts
8. Claudette
9. Blue Bayou
10. Dream Baby
11. Walk On
12. Falling
13. Running Scared
14. California Blue
15. Leah
16. Mean Woman Blues
17. Crawling Back
18. Ride Away
19. Too Soon To Know
20. She’s A Mystery to Me
21. Blue Angel
22. It’s Over
23. Ooby Dooby
24. Heartbreak Radio
25. Not Alone Anymore (Traveling Wilburys)
26. Handle With Care (Traveling Wilburys)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like


Will we finally learn the identity of 'H'?


Join us for a nostalgic tour of Granada's 1980s and 90s crime drama masterpiece.


We pick the best deaths from the iconic franchise.


We pick the songs that the band should have had hits with.


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you