Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Roy Orbison’s Black & White Night 30 coming this month

The TV special has been re-edited with previously unseen footage.

Roy Orbison
Credit: Sheila Rock / Orbison Archives

A re-imagined, re-edited, remastered and expanded version of the original television special Black & White Night is being released to celebrate the 30th anniversary of Roy Orbison’s renowned 1987 televised comeback concert.

Black & White Night 30 captures the iconic concert at the Cocoanut Grove night club in Los Angeles. It will be released via a collaboration with Sony Music’s Legacy Recordings and Roy’s Boys LLC.

The special featured appearances by Jackson Browne, T Bone Burnett, Elvis Costello, k.d. lang, Bonnie Raitt, J.D. Souther, Bruce Springsteen, Tom Waits and Jennifer Warnes. It aired less than a year before Orbison’s untimely death.

Black & White Night 30 features previously unseen footage from the special. Orbison’s youngest son Alex and his co-editor Luke Chalk have gone back and re-edited the entire performance so the vast majority of footage in Black & White Night 30 has never been seen before by the public.

The programme has been restored to reflect the correct set order and features hits such as Only the Lonely, In Dreams and Crying.

Bonus features on the release include a previously alternate version of Orbison’s biggest hit Oh, Pretty Woman and the previously unseen Blue Angel. There is also a ‘secret concert’ of five songs that is presented here for the first time.

Also included is a brand new 33-minute mini-documentary consisting of rehearsal footage and pre and post show interviews with Bruce Springsteen, Elvis Costello, k.d. lang, Bonnie Raitt and Jackson Browne from that night.

Roy Orbison: Black & White Night 30 DVD/Blu-ray track list is:

1) Only the Lonely
2) Leah
3) In Dreams
4) Crying
5) Uptown
6) The Comedians
7) Blue Angel+
8) It’s Over
9) Running Scared
10) Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)
11) Mean Woman Blues
12) Candy Man
13) Ooby Dooby
14) Blue Bayou
15) Go Go Go (Down the Line)
16) (All I Can Do Is) Dream You
17) Claudette
18) Oh, Pretty Woman (ALT Version)*
19) Oh, Pretty Woman

Secret Post Show
1) (All I Can Do Is) Dream You (Alternate Version)*
2) The Comedians (Alternate Version)*
3) Candy Man (Alternate Version)*
4) Claudette (Alternate Version)*
5) Uptown (Alternate Version)*

*Previously unreleased
+First time on DVD

DVD/Blu-ray bonus features:

  • Bonus Rehearsal & Interview Footage
  • Photo Gallery


You May Also Like


It's 20 years since Madonna released her multi platinum Music album.


The chart-topping duo are getting into the festive spirit.


The anthology podcast series has a new episode on 30th September.

EF Country

Pip and Laura look at the debate around the Country music icon.

Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you