Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Roy Orbison and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra to release album

The late star’s music is given a makeover by the world famous orchestra.

Roy Orbison
Credit: David Redfern, courtesy of Roy's Boys LLC

Sony Music in partnership with Roy’s Boys LLC will release A Love So Beautiful, a collaborative album between the late Roy Orbison and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

Arriving on 3rd November 2017, A Love So Beautiful will be available on CD, vinyl LP and digital formats. The new album uses Orbison’s best original vocal performances and combines them with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s unrivalled instrumentation.

In addition Orbison’s sons Wesley (guitar), Roy Jr. (guitar) and Alex (drums) provided instrumental backing on selected tracks, along with ten-month-old grandson Roy III (guitar, tambourine).

Alex Orbison, President of Roy’s Boys and the youngest of Roy Orbison’s sons, stated, “If ever there were a singer whose body of work benefits from a collaboration with the Royal Philharmonic it would be Roy Orbison. During the course of his career and after his passing it was constantly noted that his transcendent vocal ability made him something of an anomaly in the world of pop and rock and that, in another life, he would have taken the classical music/opera world by storm. Soon, we’ll all be able to experience that ‘life’ with the release of this project. It’s more than an album release, it’s the fulfilment of a prophecy in a very tangible way.”

Songs featured on A Love So Beautiful span Orbison’s successful career and are a mix of big hits and fan favourites. The album was produced by Don Reedman and Nick Patrick, who were also at the helm for the hugely successful albums If I Can Dream: Elvis Presley with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and The Wonder of You: Elvis Presley with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

Also coming this autumn is the first ever estate sanctioned Roy Orbison book, The Authorized Roy Orbison. Written by Wesley, Roy Jr. and Alex Orbison – Roy’s Boys – with the help of Jeff Slate, the book illustrates the people, places, things and events that forged their father, the man behind those famous sunglasses.

The track listing for A Love So Beautiful is:

1. In Dreams
2. Crying
3. I’m Hurtin’
4. Oh, Pretty Woman
5. It’s Over
6. Dream Baby
7. Blue Angel
8. Love Hurts
9. Uptown
10. Mean Woman Blues
11. Only the Lonely

Listen to Roy Orbison classic I Drove All Night below:


You May Also Like


It's 20 years since Madonna released her multi platinum Music album.


The chart-topping duo are getting into the festive spirit.


The anthology podcast series has a new episode on 30th September.

EF Country

Pip and Laura look at the debate around the Country music icon.

Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you