HomeEF CountrySteve Earle & The Dukes to release new album GUY in March

Steve Earle & The Dukes to release new album GUY in March

Steve Earle & The Dukes will release new album GUY on 29th March 2019 through New West Records.

The 16-song set features songs written by Earle’s mentor Guy Clark and comes ten years after the singer-songwriter paid tribute to his other mentor Townes Van Zandt on TOWNES. GUY is produced by Earle and recorded by his long-time production partner Ray Kennedy.

The album features the latest incarnation of his backing band The Dukes including Kelley Looney on bass, Chris Masterson on guitar, Eleanor Whitmore on fiddle & mandolin, Ricky Ray Jackson on pedal steel guitar, and Brad Pemberton on drums & percussion.

GUY also features guest appearances by fellow Guy Clark cohorts Emmylou Harris, Rodney Crowell, Terry Allen, Jerry Jeff Walker, Mickey Raphael, Shawn Camp, Verlon Thompson, Gary Nicholson, and the photographer Jim McGuire.

Earle met Clark in 1974 hitchhiking from San Antonio to Nashville. He became the bassist in Clark’s band, taking over from Rodney Crowell.

“No way I could get out of doing this record,” says Earle. “When I get to the other side, I didn’t want to run into Guy having made the Townes record and not one about him.”

“GUY wasn’t really a hard record to make. We did it fast, five or six days with almost no overdubbing. I wanted it to sound live… When you’ve got a catalog like Guy’s and you’re only doing sixteen tracks, you know each one is going to be strong.

GUY will be available on CD, across digital retailers, standard black vinyl, limited edition blue vinyl available at Independent Retailers, an extremely limited-to-200 clear vinyl edition available at retailers in Texas & Tennessee, a limited autographed edition available at Barnes & Noble stores, and limited edition red vinyl exclusively available for pre-order now via New West Records.

The track listing for GUY is:

1. Dublin Blues
2. L.A. Freeway
3. Texas 1947
4. Desperados Waiting For A Train
5. Rita Ballou
6. The Ballad Of Laverne And Captain Flint
7. The Randall Knife
8. Anyhow I Love You
9. That Old Time Feeling
10. Heartbroke
11. The Last Gunfighter Ballad
12. Out In The Parking Lot
13. She Ain’t Going Nowhere
14. Sis Draper
15. New Cut Road
16. Old Friends

Pip Ellwood-Hughes
Pip Ellwood-Hughes
Pip is the Editor of Entertainment Focus and the Managing Director of agency Piñata Media.

Must Read