Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards 2018 winners announced

This Country and Three Girls led the night’s winners.

This Country
Credit: BBC

The Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards took place last night at the Royal Festival Hall with host Sue Perkins presiding over the evening.

Presenters over the night included Anita Rani, Ashley Walters, Bradley Walsh, Clare Balding, Claudia Winkleman, Dermot O’Leary, Emma Willis, Greg Davies, Jodie Whittaker, Joely Richardson, John Bishop, Martin Freeman, Michelle Keegan, Sir Mo Farah, Nish Kumar, Noel Clarke, Ore Oduba, Victoria Derbyshire and Wunmi Mosaku.

The winners were led by mockumentary This Country and hard-hitting drama Three Girls, both of which picked up two awards.

Sean Bean won Leading Actor for drama series Broken and Molly Windsor took home Leading Actress for Three Girls. Vanessa Kirkby won Support Actress for The Crown and Brian F O’Byrne picked up Support Actor for Little Boy Blue.

The full list of winners for the evening were:

Leading actress
Molly Windsor – Three Girls

Leading actor
Sean Bean – Broken

Supporting actress
Vanessa Kirby – The Crown

Supporting actor
Brian F O’Byrne – Little Boy Blue

Entertainment performance
Graham Norton – The Graham Norton Show

Male performance in a comedy programme
Toby Jones – Detectorists

Female performance in a comedy programme
Daisy May Cooper – This Country

Drama series
Peaky Blinders

Single drama
Murdered for Being Different

Three Girls

Soap and continuing drama

The Handmaid’s Tale

Entertainment programme
Britain’s Got Talent

Comedy and comedy entertainment programme
Murder in Successville

Scripted comedy
This Country

Cruising with Jane McDonald

Must-see moment
Blue Planet II – Mother pilot whale grieves

Current affairs
Undercover: Britain’s Immigration Secrets (Panorama)

Single documentary
Rio Ferdinand: Being Mum and Dad

Factual series

Reality and constructed factual
Love Island

Specialist factual
Basquiat – Rage to Riches

News coverage
The Rohingya Crisis (Sky News)

The Grand National (ITV Sport/ITV)

Live event
World War One Remembered: Passchendaele

Short-form programme
Morgana Robinson’s Summer

BAFTA fellowship
Kate Adie

Special Award
John Motson


You May Also Like

EF Country

The Country legend's best-known songs are getting a makeover.

Games & Tech

Features 12 iconic trains.

Games & Tech

Available for PC, Xbox One and PS4.


We chat to the actor and director about his exploration of the Hollywood horror community.

Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you