Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


AIM 2016 nominations shortlist announced

Find out who is up for an award in September.


AIM Independent Music Awards has revealed its nominee shortlist. The winners will be revealed at this year’s ceremony, which will take place at Clerkenwell’s, The Brewery on 6th September.

The Independent Label Of The Year award is being contested by Because Music, Bella Union, Epitaph/ANTI, Moshi Moshi and Ninja Tune. 47 artists will be battling for 9 artist awards this year and leading the nominations are the likes of Christine and The Queens, Field Music, Flume, Radiohead, Roots Manuva, Skepta and Wolf Alice.

The full list of nominees is:

Best Small Label (In Association With Proper Music Distribution)

Beatnik Creative

Earth Recordings

Holy Roar

Local Action



Best Difficult Second Album (In Association With Radio X)

Daughter – Not To Disappear

Fat White Family – Songs For Our Mothers

Melt Yourself Down – Last Evenings On Earth

Money – Suicide Songs

Savages – Adore Life


Special Catalogue Release Of The Year (In Association With Modo)

British Sea Power – The Compleat Illustrated British Sea Power (Vol. 1)

Mikael Tariverdiev – Film Music

Slade – When Slade Rocked The World

Various Artists – Ork Records: New York, New York

Various Artists – Leaf 20 Box Set


Hardest Working Band Or Artist

Darren Hayman

Kamasi Washington

Martyn Joseph

Run The Jewels



Golden Welly Award For Best Independent Festival In Association With Aif, Voted For Viadiymag.Com)

Barn On The Farm

Beat Herder

Brainchild Festival

Pete The Monkey

Strawberries & Creem Festival


Independent Breakthrough Of The Year (In Association With Youtube)

Christine And The Queens

Father John Misty


Neck Deep




Indie Champion Award (In Association With Ci)

Chris Bye  – Arts Council England / Liverpool Sound City

Jen Long – Dice

Jess Partridge – London In Stereo

Jon Tolley – Banquet Records

Mary Anne Hobbs – Bbc 6music


Independent Video Of The Year (In Association With Vevo)

Darwin Deez – The Mess She Made

Grimes – Kill V. Maim

Kaytranada – Lite Spots

Oscar – Sometimes

Yeasayer – I Am Chemistry


Best Live Act (Voted For By Visitors To Songkick)


Caravan Palace


Sunset Sons

Wolf Alice


Independent Track Of The Year (In Association With Mcps)

Adele – Hello

Christine And The Queens – Tilted

Field Music – The Noisy Days Are Over

Flume – Never Be Like You

Ghetts X Rude Kid – One Take

Major Lazer Ft Nyla & Fuse Odg – Light It Up [Remix]

Protoje Ft Chronixx – Who Knows

Radiohead – Burn The Witch

Skepta – Man

Roots Manuva – Don’t Breathe Out


Ppl Award For Most Played New Independent Act



Wolf Alice



Independent Album Of The Year (In Association With The Orchard)

Arca – Mutant

Brian Eno – The Ship

Field Music – Commontime

Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes – Blossom

Lapsley – Long Way Home

Little Simz – A Curious Tale Of Trials + Persons

Press To Meco – Good Intent

Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool

Roots Manuva – Bleeds

Skepta – Konnichiwa


Independent Label Of The Year (In Association With Believe Digital)

Because Music

Bella Union


Moshi Moshi

Ninja Tune


Outstanding Contribution To Music (In Association With Amazon Music)

Roisin Murphy


Pioneer Award

Richard Russell, Xl Recordings


Innovator Award (In Association With Fuga)


The winners will be revealed during the ceremony on 6th September 2016 at The Brewery in Clerkenwell.


You May Also Like


We offer our ranking of the pop legends' singles so far.

EF Country

The video is available exclusively on EF Country.


The group tell us about their new album in their own words.


The pop legends release their best album yet.

Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you