Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


AIM Independent Music Awards reveal nominations

The winners will be revealed on 3rd September.

AIM Independant Music Awards

The AIM Independent Music Awards are back yet again this year. Promoting independent music, which sadly can  go unnoticed, the iconic AIM will be hosting their ever more popular awards show at The Brewery once again on 3rd September.

AIM have also today unveiled the nominees in each category and the nominees are:

Best Live Act (in association with The Fly)

Bellowhead (Navigator)

Bonobo (Ninja Tune)

Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality/[PIAS] Recordings)

Johnny Marr (New Voodoo)

The National (4AD)

Independent Breakthrough of the Year (sponsored by 7digital)

The 1975 (Dirty Hit)

Daughter (4AD)

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Macklemore LLC)

Palma Violets (Rough Trade)

Passenger (Nettwerk)

Public Service Broadcasting (Test Card Recordings)

Hardest Working Band or Artist 

Alt-J (Infectious)

The Computers (One Little Indian)

Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality/[PIAS] Recordings)

Frankie & the Heartstrings (Wichita)

Sam Lee (Nest Collective)

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album (in association with Xfm)

Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light ([PIAS] Recordings)

John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts (Bella Union)

Major Lazer – Free The Universe (Because Music)

Villagers – {Awayland} (Domino)

The xx  – Coexist (XL Recordings)

Best Small Label (sponsored by Disc Manufacturing Services)

Alcopop! Records

Gringo Records


Rocket Girl

Too Pure Singles Club

Special Catalogue Release of the Year (in association with Amazon)

Bonobo – The North Borders (Ninja Tune)

Interpol – Turn On The Bright Lights 10th Anniversary Edition (Matador)

The Horrors – Higher (XL Recordings)

Various Artists – Kenya Special (Soundway Records)

Various Artists – Scared to Get Happy: A Story of Indie Pop 1980-89 (Cherry Red)

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival

(sponsored by UK Music, in association with AIF and This is Fake DIY)

Hebridean Celtic Festival

In The Woods


Truck Festival

Y Not Festival

Independent Video of the Year (Sponsored by Vevo)

Childhood – Solemn Skies (Marathon Artists)

David Byrne & St Vincent – Who (4AD)

Django Django – WOR (Because Music)

Grimes – Genesis (4AD)

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – Thrift Shop (Macklemore LLC)

The Ramona Flowers – Lust & Lies (Distiller Records)

Indie Champion Award (sponsored by Consolidated Independent)

Gilles Peterson – BBC 6music

Joe Sparrow – A New Band A Day

John Kennedy – XFM

Lauren Laverne – BBC 6music

Lawrence Montgomery – Rise Music

Independent Track of the Year (Sponsored by Spotify)

Daughter – Youth (4AD)

Jagwar Ma – The Throw (Marathon Artists)

Palma Violets – Best of Friends (Rough Trade)

Passenger – Let Her Go (Nettwerk)

TNGHT – Higher Ground (Warp Records)

Vampire Weekend – Diane Young (XL Recordings)

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act

The 2 Bears (Southern Fried)

Alabama Shakes (Rough Trade)

Alt-J (Infectious)

Django Django (Because Music)

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Macklemore LLC)

INDEPENDENT ALBUM OF THE YEAR (in association with Record Store Day)

Daughter – If You Leave (4AD)

David Byrne & St Vincent – Love This Giant (4AD)

Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light ([PIAS] Recordings)

Jagwar Ma – Howlin (Marathon Artists)

John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts (Bella Union)

Jon Hopkins – Immunity (Domino)

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push the Sky Away (Bad Seed)

Public Service Broadcasting – Inform – Educate – Entertain (Test Card Recordings)

Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the City (XL Recordings)

The xx – Coexist (XL Recordings

Independent Label of the Year (sponsored by Coutts)

Bella Union

Cooking Vinyl


[PIAS] Recordings

Warp Records 

Pioneer Award (sponsored by The Orchard) – Geoff Travis (Rough Trade)

Outstanding Contribution to Music (sponsored by eMusic) – Billy Bragg (Cooking Vinyl)

Winners will be revealed at the ceremony hosted by  Huw Stephens and Steve Lamacq at London’s The Brewery on 3rd September.  Final ceremony tickets and a limited but still available.


You May Also Like

EF Country

The Canadian Country trio releases their new video today.

Games & Tech

See how we got on with the game ahead of its November cross-gen release.


We've got three to give away.

Games & Tech

Can your rig cope? Probably.

Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you