Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Savage Garden to release The Singles in January

The duo mark their 20th anniversary with a greatest hits release.

Savage Garden
Credit: Sony Music

Savage Garden will celebrate their 20th anniversary with the release of new compilation album Savage Garden: The Singles on 8th January 2016.

The release will feature all of the band’s singles and previously unreleased 1994 demo She. The demo was discovered when the master recordings of the band’s singles were being transferred. She was made available via Savage Garden’s Facebook page and website.

Darren Hayes said, “It’s a long time ago, but my recollection is I was writing about the relationship that I have, and continue to have, with the women in my life. From my Sister to my Mother and all the friends and the wonderful female relationships in my life. I know I’m indebted to these incredibly strong women who loved me and taught me what it was like to be strong and succeed in a world where you sometimes feel underestimated.”

Daniel Jones added, “From memory I think we just sat down and literally wrote it together in my parents’ house in Brisbane. I remember my mother really liked the track – the innocence and raw beauty of it. It’s very pro-female song so I think a lot of girls will relate to how powerful it is for them. I think that was probably the biggest reason why my Mum really took to this particular song.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

During their career Savage Garden sold over 20 million albums and enjoyed success across the world. They hold the Guinness Book of World Records for winning an unprecedented 10 Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) Awards in one year (1997). In addition, they are the reigning record-holders for the longest number of weeks on the Monitor/Billboard Adult Contemporary Airplay charts in the US for their singles: I Knew I Loved You (124 weeks) and Truly, Madly, Deeply (123 weeks).

The tracklisting for the album is:

1. I Want You
2. To The Moon and Back
3. Truly Madly Deeply
4. Break Me Shake Me
5. Universe
6. All Around Me
7. Santa Monica
8. Tears of Pearls
9. The Animal Song
10. I Knew I Loved You
11. Crash and Burn
12. Affirmation
13. Chained to You
14. Hold Me
15. The Best Thing
16. She (1994 Demo)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like


Welcome to our weekly look at what has been going on in the Werk Room and Main Stage of Rupaul’s Drag Race Down Under....

Games & Tech

We take a look at the two big league game publishers.

Games & Tech

Expeditions: The Pitt coming 2022.


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you