Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Broadchurch leads BPG Award nominations

The hit ITV drama picks up nominations in the major categories.

David Tennant
Credit: ITV

The nominations for the 40th Annual Broadcasting Press Guild Awards, sponsored by Discovery Channel, have been announced.

Channel 4 and BBC Two have dominated the awards picking up 10 nominations and 9 nominations respectively. Broadchurch leads the way with nominations in Best Drama Series, Best Writer, Best Actor and Best Actress.

The shortlists for Radio Broadcaster of the Year and Radio Programme of the Year will be announced in a week’s time. Check out the full list of nominations below:

Best Single Drama
Black Mirror: Be Right Back (Channel 4)
Burton and Taylor (BBC Four)
The Wipers Times (BBC Two)

Best Drama Series
Broadchurch (ITV)
The Fall (BBC Two)
Top of the Lake (BBC Two)

Best Single Documentary
Dogging Tales (Channel 4)
The Murder Trial (Channel 4)
Richard III: The King in the Car Park (Channel 4)
Syria: Across the Lines (Channel 4)

Best Documentary Series
The Call Centre (BBC Three)
Educating Yorkshire (Channel 4)
The Story of the Jews (BBC Two)

Best Entertainment/Comedy
Ambassadors (BBC Two)
Fresh Meat (Channel 4)
Strictly Come Dancing (BBC One)
Toast (Channel 4)

Best Multichannel Programme
Crackanory (Dave)
Shaun Ryder on UFOs (History)
The Tunnel (Sky Atlantic)
Yonderland (Sky 1)

Best Factual Entertainment
Gogglebox (Channel 4)
Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs (ITV)
The Great British Bake Off, series 4 (BBC Two)

Best Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor – Dancing on the Edge (BBC Two)
Rory Kinnear – Southcliffe (Channel 4)
Peter Mullen – Top of the Lake (BBC Two)
David Tennant – Broadchurch (ITV)

Best Actress
Gillian Anderson – The Fall (BBC Two)
Olivia Colman – Broadchurch (ITV)
Elizabeth Moss – Top of the Lake (BBC Two)
Maxine Peake – The Village (BBC One)

Best Writer
Jane Campion – Top of the Lake (BBC Two)
Chris Chibnall – Broadchurch (ITV)
Allan Cubitt – The Fall (BBC Two)
Sally Wainwright – Last Tango in Halifax (BBC One)

Breakthrough Award
BT Sport (successful launch of a challenger TV brand)
Jamie Dornan (The Fall)
Sharon Rooney (My Mad Fat Diary)

Innovation Award
Gogglebox – for an innovative programme format
Netflix – for programming and distribution innovation
Sky Television –for 25 years of innovation


You May Also Like

EF Country

Fascinating album of pure Country joy and skilled Pop influences.


Our reviewer reaches the early-1980s and the end of the Fourth Doctor's era.

EF Country

McBryde's third album is a left-turn exploration of southern life in Lindeville


The truth came out as Joe finally discovered who was trying to frame him.

Copyright © 2022 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you