Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Frank Turner announces new album Live In Newcastle

The singer-songwriter and his band The Sleeping Souls will release their new record on 24th April.

Frank Turner
Credit: Xtra Mile Recordings/Polydor Records

Singer-songwriter Frank Turner has announced the release of his latest album, Live In Newcastle.

The digital-only record is due out on 24th April on Xtra Mile Recordings/Polydor Records. It was recorded by Turner and his band The Sleeping Souls live at the O2 City Hall in Newcastle in late 2019, as part of their UK-wide headline tour in support of his latest studio album No Man’s Land.

The album takes listeners inside a snapshot of one of Turner’s legendary live shows, featuring unplugged sets performed in seated venues – an unusual shake-up for him – and 20 tracks from his extensive back catalogue. It also includes introspective and deeply personal discussions of the songs performed, shedding new light on old favourites.

Speaking about this alternate approach to his 2019 shows (across which the full-band sets followed up a solo acoustic opener from Turner), Turner said: “The story-telling set that I put together with the Sleeping Souls last year was a new venture, an experiment, a risk, and in the end a huge success – I couldn’t be more proud of the way we found a new angle on my songs and my live show. I’m excited that we managed to capture the magic and get it out there for everyone to enjoy.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The track listing for Live In Newcastle is:

  1. The Ballad of Me & My Friends
  2. I Knew Prufrock Before He Got Famous
  3. Journey of the Magi
  4. Substitute
  5. Isabel
  6. Redemption
  7. Reasons Not To Be An Idiot
  8. I Am Disappeared
  9. Tell Tale Signs
  10. One Foot Before the Other
  11. The Way I Tend To Be
  12. The Opening Act Of Spring
  13. Love Forty Down
  14. There She Is
  15. Don’t Worry
  16. Balthazar Impresario
  17. Photosynthesis
  18. Recovery
  19. I Still Believe
  20. Be More Kind

The announcement arrives alongside Turner’s current series of virtual fundraiser gigs, #IndependentVenueLove, which aims to raise money to support independent venues during the current coronavirus crisis. So far the campaign has raised over £1,000 for London venue Nambucca and helped to save The Joiner’s Arms in Southampton from closure. Sessions are currently taking place every Thursday evening UK time via Turner’s Facebook page, with tonight’s (16th April) session raising money for Tunbridge Wells Forum.

Having been forced to cancel his own recent 2020 tour dates due to coronavirus, Turner recently marked what would have been the Nottingham gig by hosting a viewing party for his ‘Show 2000 – Nottingham Rock City – 15/12/2016’ DVD release, filmed at his 2000th solo show four years ago. Over 6,000 fans tuned into his Youtube channel for the screening and live Q&A.

Originally from Hampshire, Frank Turner began his career as the vocalist of the band Million Dead, before releasing his debut solo album, Sleep Is For The Weak, in 2005. Since then he has released a further seven studio albums, with his latest record, 2019’s No Man’s Land, becoming his fourth consecutive top three album to date. He is also a prolific live performer, having played over 2,400 live shows in his solo career.

Frank Turner and The Sleeping Souls’ new album Live In Newcastle is available for pre-order now.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


You May Also Like

Games & Tech

All of the facts and theories surrounding the ocean egg.


The hit Spanish drama is back this summer.


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you