Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Christy Moore to release new album Magic Nights in November

The new album features 26 live recordings.

Christy Moore
Credit: Sony Music

Christy Moore will release new album Magic Nights on 22nd November 2019.

The album features 26 songs across two discs. It is a further collection of Christy songs amassed through more than 50 incredible years of recording and gigging.

The songs were recorded in venues from Derry to Dublin, Birmingham to Belfast and Liverpool to Lisdoonvarna. The album features many newly recorded live favourites.

The first single is a cover of Johnny Cash’s cover of the Nine Inch Nails song Hurt. The album is the follow-up to 2017 album On the Road.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Talking about Magic Nights Moore says:

“We are about to release a new album of songs for your consideration.

It contains 26 new live recordings gathered under the title of Magic Nights.

The opening track is Magic Nights in The Lobby Bar. A version of John Spillane/Ger Wolf’s classic song recorded at The Opera House, Cork in 2014.

We have recorded all our gigs in recent years. Producer Jimmy Higgins and Sound Engineer David Meade selected these takes from hundreds of gigs.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

It has been an enjoyable process. Listening back and discovering special moments, riffs that went unnoticed, choruses long forgotten.

Every gig develops its own atmosphere, every audience being a unique gathering of listeners.

In Belfast we dedicated Burning Times to Lyra McKee, her young life so cruelly ended on The Creggan.

In Glasgow I responded to a call-out for Spancilhiil and what followed was, for me, a very special version of young Michael Considine’s beautiful song.

When we played Dreamland in Athy I sang Johnny Cash’s version of Hurt. I was 18 when I heard him sing in that very same Dancehall. A night I have never forgotten. (Albert Reynolds was on the door!)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In Vicar St, Dublin a voice called out for “Johnny Jump Up”. The Band had not played it before but I dived in and they followed. I cherish such spontaneous moments.

In recent months I have happened upon Sean Mone’s Rosalita & Jack Cambell, Pete St John’s Inchicore Wake, Rob Corcoran’s Ringing that Bell and Albert Niland’s Irish Pagan Ritual (aka Sail on Jimmy) Each one taking its place in the set and gathering momentum along the way.

It’s 50 years this year since I released my first album.

I have deep gratitude for the mystery of it all. At work I’m surrounded by a great team of comrades. Their talents and vital contributions keep the show on the road.

Each night at 8.05 we stand side stage, breathe in the air of expectancy, the intoxicating waft of perfume and after shave. The crew complete their final checks, the lights go down and out we go once more to face the Music.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Thank You for listening, One and All,


In 2020 Christy plays Usher Hall Edinburgh on 16 April & Barrowland Glasgow on 18 April

The track listing for Magic Nights is:

First Half (CD1)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

1. Magic Nights in The Lobby Bar
2. Matty
3. Sonny’s Dream
4. Ringing That Bell
5. A Pair of Brown Eyes
6. Sail On Jimmy
7. Burning Times
8. The Tuam Beat
9. Back Home in Derry
10. Rosalita and Jack Campbell
11. Duffy’s Cut
12. Motherland
13. Spancilhill

Second Half (CD2)

1. Before The Deluge
2. The Two Conneeleys
3. Missing You
4. Cry like a Man
5. The Reel in the Flickering Light
6. Veronica
7. Johnny Jump Up
8. Inchicore Wake
9. Tippin it up to Nancy
10. Only Our Rivers Run Free
11. Hurt
12. The Well Below The Valley
13. Mandolin Mountain

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like


We pick the songs that should have been singles from the singer's catalogue.


Will we finally learn the identity of 'H'?


We pick the best deaths from the iconic franchise.


Join us for a nostalgic tour of Granada's 1980s and 90s crime drama masterpiece.


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you