Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

EF Country

Steep Canyon Rangers team up with Boyz II Men and The Asheville Symphony for Be Still Moses

Take a listen to the new version of the track.

Steep Canyon Rangers
Credit: David Simchock

Steep Canyon Rangers, who are frequent collaborators of actor and banjoist Steve Martin, have teamed up with Boyz II Men and The Asheville Symphony for a reworking of their original track Be Still Moses.

The track originally appeared on the band’s 2007 breakout album Lovin’ Pretty Women. Take a listen to the new version below:

The song arrives as Steep Canyon Rangers announce that they’ve re-signed with Yep Roc Records.

“It feels like coming home,” says band memeber Graham Sharp of the partnership. “The Yep Roc family was among the first to welcome Steep Canyon Rangers when we were just pups. As we’ve grown, so have they. We’re incredibly excited for the future and all the music it holds.”

It was the idea of Steep Canyon Rangers’ producer Michael Selverne to rework Be Still Moses. Selverne called on his friend legendary conductor and arranger Michael Bearden to help get Boyz II Men on board.

“We always get this chill when we know we are in the right place,” says Boyz II Men’s Shawn Stockman. “And we got a few chills working on this project.”

Graham Sharp adds, “Sometimes it takes a person outside the band to hear your music in a different light and recognize its potential. I give credit to our producer Michael Selverne and to Michael Bearden for their vision of bringing together two very different musical worlds for a moment that transcends any genre designation. Boyz II Men took the song to a whole new level, and as a songwriter it’s mind-blowing to hear.”

Be Still Moses was produced and arranged by Michael Selverne, Joe Mulvihill and Boyz II Men members Wanya Morris, Nathan Morris and Shawn Stockman. Steep Canyon Rangers will perform the song on their extensive international tour, which includes currently announced dates into Spring 2020.

The Steep Canyon Rangers’ upcoming tour dates:

Sun., Sept. 22 | Lancaster Middle School | Kilmarnock, VA
Fri., Sept. 27 | Huck Finn Jubilee | Ontario, CA
Sat., Sept. 28 | Yavapai College | Prescott, AZ
Fri., Oct. 18 | Sands Bethlehem Event Center | Bethlehem, PA*
Sat., Oct. 19 | Borgata Hotel & Casino | Atlantic City, NJ*
Wed., Oct. 23 | Kutztown University of Pennsylvania | Kutztown, PA
Thurs., Oct. 24 | The Midland Theatre | Newark, OH
Sat., Oct. 26 | Clowes Memorial Hall | Indianapolis, IN
Fri., Nov. 1 | The Weinberg Center for the Arts | Frederick, MD
Sat., Nov. 2 | Academy Theatre | Lynchburg, VA
Fri., Nov. 8 – Sat., Nov. 9 | Riverside Theatre | Perth, Australia*
Mon., Nov. 11 | Adelaide Entertainment Centre | Hindmarsh, Australia*
Wed., Nov. 13 | Brisbane Entertainment Centre | Boondall, Australia*
Fri., Nov. 15 | Melbourne Arena | Melbourne, Australia*
Sun., Nov. 17 | International Convention Centre Sydney | Darling Harbour, Australia*
Tues., Nov. 19 | Spark Arena | Auckland, New Zealand*
Thurs., Jan. 9 | Grand Theater | Wausau, WI
Fri., Jan. 10 | University of Dubuque Heritage Center | Dubuque, IA
Fri., Jan. 24 | Pepperdine University | Malibu, CA
Fri., Feb. 28 | Ponte Vedra Concert Hall | Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Sun., Mar. 1 | Nancy and David Bilheimer Capitol Theatre | Clearwater, FL
Mon., Mar. 9 | Arizona Musicfest | Scottsdale, AZ

Thurs., Apr. 2 | Mount Baker Theatre | Bellingham, WA

*denotes show with Steve Martin and Martin Short

Advertisement

You May Also Like

TV

Join us for a tour around the world via the streaming platform's great shows.

Music

The beloved pop band are back with new music and a tour.

Music

The global smash is blowing up in the UK right now.

Games & Tech

The only Match-3 puzzle game set within the original Harry Potter books and films.



Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you