Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

EF Country

The Devil Makes Three announce new album

The country-rock trio will release their new record on 24th August.

The Devil Makes Three
Credit: Jay Westcott

Country-rock trio The Devil Makes Three have announced their new album, Chains Are Broken, which will be released on 24th August on New West Records.

The 11-song record will feature the group’s signature combination of folk, blues and rock and roll, as well as great storytelling. It is the band’s first album of original material since their debut LP I’m A Stranger Here, which was released in 2013 to critical acclaim. Their most recent album was 2016’s covers collection Redemption & Ruin, which gave them their second number one on Billboard’s Top Bluegrass Albums Chart.

“I always want our songs to unfold like short stories,” says band member Pete Bernhard. “You could think of them as chapters of a book. This was a much more personal album about what it takes to be a writer of any kind – and what you have to do to make your dream possible. It was really the headspace I was in. It might have something to do with getting older. You start reflecting on life and the people around you. I was doing that in these songs. That’s what makes the record more personal. I’m pulling from these things. Some of it is about drug addiction. Some of it is about the things you sacrifice. Some of it is about the detrimental things we do for inspiration. Nevertheless, they all have some sort of narrative.”


For Chains Are Broken, The Devil Makes Three chose not to use the revolving cast of studio collaborators they had worked with previously. Instead, they stuck to the core trio of Pete Bernhard, Lucia Turino and Cooper McBean, with the band’s touring drummer Stefan Amidon providing the percussion.

The new album was produced by Ted Hutt, who has previously worked with artists including The Gaslight Anthem and Flogging Molly. It was recorded at Sonic Ranch Studios in El Paso, Texas.

The track listing for Chains Are Broken is:

  1. Chains Are Broken
  2. Pray For Rain
  3. Paint My Face
  4. Can’t Stop
  5. Need To Lose
  6. All Is Quiet
  7. Bad Idea
  8. Deep Down
  9. Native Son
  10. Castles
  11. Curtains Rise

Chains Are Broken will be released on 24th August. You can pre-order the album at

The band will also tour the UK in September at the following dates:

Mon 10 Sept – Nottingham, Rock City Basement
Tue 11 Sept – Glasgow, Oran Mor
Wed 12 Sept – Manchester, Deaf Institute
Thu 13 Sept – Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
Fri 14 Sept – London, Islington Assembly Hall


You May Also Like

EF Country

The Country legend's best-known songs are getting a makeover.

EF Country

The long-awaited album arrives just before Christmas.


We chat to the actor and director about his exploration of the Hollywood horror community.

EF Country

The duo are getting into the festive spirit.

Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you