Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Arts

Jonny and the Baptist’ Eat the Poor in UK tour

Edinburgh Fringe hit is a ‘riotous and heartfelt musical comedy for our times’.

Eat the poor

Three quarters of MPs are millionaires. A third of the country lives below the poverty line. Whatever your politics, Jonny & the Baptists think it’s worth talking about.

Their Edinburgh Fringe hit Eat the Poor will tour the UK in March-April-May. With over fifty dates, their biggest ever schedule reflects growing national audiences from acclaimed shows and appearances on Radio 4’s The Now Show and BBC Live at Television Centre.

Created through extensive research travelling across the country in early 2016, the show combines contemporary satire and inventive musical silliness with an epic personal story. Setting out to explore the gap between rich and poor, Jonny & the Baptists’ lives turn upside down when Jonny betrays Paddy for financial gain. As Jonny enjoys the high life with Andrew Lloyd Webber and Jerry Hall, Paddy falls into homelessness and despair.

An toe-tapping comedy about inequality, homelessness and revolution in modern Britain, Eat the Poor sees the multi-award-nominees continue to grow in scope and ambition – and even dabble in a small amount of actual economics. Continuing the company’s commitment to reach broad, diverse audiences, their biggest ever tour schedule takes in leading theatres, arts centres, rural venues, comedy clubs and festivals across the country.

Jonny & the Baptists – real names Jonny Donahoe & Paddy Gervers – have rapidly become one of the UK’s hottest live musical comedy acts.

Book to see the UK tour:

5 MAR – BRISTOL – Tobacco Factory Theatres | tobaccofactorytheatres.com
7-11 MAR – EXETER – Bike Shed Theatre | bikeshedtheatre.co.uk
12 MAR – RICHMOND – Orange Tree Theatre | orangetreetheatre.co.uk
16-18 MAR – SALISBURY – Salisbury Playhouse | salisburyplayhouse.com
21 MAR – NORWICH – Norwich Playhouse | norwichplayhouse.co.uk
22 MAR – GUILDFORD – Star Inn | guildfordfringe.com
23 MAR – COLCHESTER – Lakeside Theatre | lakesidetheatre.org.uk
24 MAR – HARLOW – Harlow Playhouse | harlowplayhouse.co.uk
25 MAR – CARDIFF – Chapter Arts Centre | chapter.org
28-29 MAR – NEWCASTLE – Northern Stage | northernstage.co.uk
30 MAR – OXFORD – Old Fire Station | oldfirestation.org.uk
31 MAR – FARNHAM – Farnham Maltings | farnhammaltings.com
1 APR – BEDFORD – Quarry Theatre | quarrytheatre.org.uk
5 APR – SUNDERLAND – Pop Recs, Sunderland | sunderlandstages.co.uk
6 APR – READING – South Street Arts | readingarts.com
7 APR – HAVANT – The Spring Arts Centre | thespring.co.uk
8 APR – MIILTON KEYNES – The Stables | stables.org
11 APR – GLASGOW – Platform | platform-online.co.uk
12 APR – LANCASTER – The Dukes | dukes-lancaster.org
21 APR – CAMBRIDGE – Cambridge Junction | junction.co.uk
22 APR – CALSTOCK – Calstock Village Hall | calstockhall.com
28 APR – CARDIGAN – Small World Theatre | smallworld.org.uk
29-30 APR – MACHYNLLETH – Comedy Festival | machcomedyfest.co.uk
2-6 MAY – PLYMOUTH – The Drum, Theatre Royal | theatreroyal.co.uk
8-10 MAY – LONDON – Soho Theatre | sohotheatre.com
11 MAY – BIRMINGHAM – mac | macbirmingham.co.uk
12 MAY – CORSHAM – Pound Arts | poundarts.org.uk
13 MAY – FRITWELL – Fritwell Village Hall | fritwellvillagehall.co.uk
15 MAY – HOVE – The Old Market | theoldmarket.com
19 MAY – FAREHAM – Ashcroft Arts Centre | hampshireculturaltrust.org.uk
20 MAY – EASTLEIGH – The Point | thepointeastleigh.co.uk
21 MAY – IPSWICH – New Wolsey Theatre | wolseytheatre.co.uk
23 MAY – EDINBURGH – The Stand | thestand.co.uk
24 MAY – GLASGOW – The Stand | thestand.co.uk
25 MAY – MONIAIVE – Craigdarroch Arms | craigdarrocharmshotel.co.uk
26 MAY – BARNSLEY – The Civic | barnsleycivic.co.uk
27 MAY – SALFORD – The Lowry | thelowry.com

Advertisement

You May Also Like

EF Country

The Country legend's best-known songs are getting a makeover.

EF Country

The long-awaited album arrives just before Christmas.

Film

We chat to the actor and director about his exploration of the Hollywood horror community.

EF Country

The duo are getting into the festive spirit.



Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you