Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Arts

The Picture of Dorian Gray to tour

Directed by Peter Craze and adapted by Merlin Holland, Wilde’s grandson.

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Fresh from a critically acclaimed UK Tour and West End run of The Trials of Oscar Wilde, European Arts Company returns with a thrilling adaptation of Oscar Wilde’s only novel to celebrate the 125th anniversary of its publication.

Adapted by Wilde’s grandson Merlin Holland and John O’Connor, The Picture of Dorian Gray is set in the decadent world of Victorian London. A beautiful, narcissistic young man becomes infatuated by the exquisite portrait that Basil Hallward has painted of him. He makes a Faustian pact that he will remain forever young while the picture grows old.

Combining drawing-room comedy and gothic horror, this is a gripping and hugely entertaining theatrical event that showcases Wilde’s remarkable talent. The production is touring to 55 venues all over England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. It finishes on 20th June at St James Studio Theatre in London on the exact date 125 years ago that Wilde’s only novel was published.

The Picture of Dorian Gray features a talented cast familiar from stage and screen, including Guy Warren-Thomas as Dorian Gray (Spooks The Greater Good, Downton Abbey), Gwynfor Jones as Lord Henry (The Woman In Black in the West End, The Hound of the Baskervilles, Oldham Coliseum), Rupert Mason as Basil Hallward (Eastenders, A Touch of Frost and most recently The Trails of Oscar Wilde for EAC). Helen Keeley as Sybil Vane (The Importance of Being Earnest, London Classic Theatre. To The End, Southwark Playhouse). It is directed by Peter Craze (Doctor Who, Blake’s Seven).

See www.europeanarts.co.uk for more information about European Arts Company

Tour Dates

Wednesday 8th April
Queens Hall Arts Centre
Hexham
www.queenshall.co.uk/

Thursday 9th April
Theatr Hafren
Powys
www.thehafren.co.uk/

Friday 10th April
Ucheldre Centre
Holyhead
www.ucheldre.org/

Saturday 11th April
Worcester Swan
Worcester
www.worcesterlive.co.uk/

Monday 13th – Tuesday 14th April
Dugdale Centre
Enfield
www.enfield.gov.uk/millfield/

Wednesday 15th April
Old Town Hall
Hemel Hempstead
www.toth.dacorum.gov.uk/

Friday 17th April
Courtyard Theatre
Hereford
www.courtyard.org.uk/

Saturday 18th April
Arena Theatre
Wolverhampton
www.wlv.ac.uk/arena-theatre/

Tuesday 21st April
Rose Theatre
Ormskirk
www.edgehill.ac.uk/artscentre/

Wednesday 22nd April
Woodville Halls
Gravesend
www.woodville.co.uk/

Thursday 23rd April
Eastbourne College
Eastbourne
www.eastbourne-college.co.uk/

Friday 24th – Saturday 25th April
Ellen Terry Barn
Tenterden
www.ellenterrybarntheatre.co.uk/

Friday 1st May
Alnwick Playhouse
Alnwick
www.alnwickplayhouse.co.uk

Saturday 2nd May
Ropewalk
Barton-Upon-Humber
www.the-ropewalk.co.uk/

Sunday 3rd May
Phoenix Theatre
Blyth
www.thephoenixtheatre.org.uk/

Monday 4th May
Swallow Theatre
Wigtown
www.swallowtheatre.com/

Wednesday 6th – Thursday 7th May
Crescent Arts Centre
Belfast
www.crescentarts.org/

Friday 8th May
Theatre at the Mill
Newtownabbey
www.theatreatthemill.com

Saturday 9th May
Riverside Theatre
Coleraine
www.riversidetheatre.org.uk

Tuesday 12th May
Norden Farm Arts Centre
Maidenhead
www.norden.farm/

Wednesday 13th May
Theatre Severn
Shrewsbury
www.theatresevern.co.uk/

Thursday 14th May
Richard Burton Theatre
Cardiff
www.rwcmd.ac.uk/whats_on/

Friday 15th May
Corn Exchange
Dorchester
www.dorchester-tc.gov.uk/Rooms+to+hire/Corn+Exchange

Wednesday 20th May
Ashcroft Arts Centre
Fareham
www3.hants.gov.uk/ashcroft

Thursday 21st May
Hazlitt Theatre
Maidstone
www.parkwoodtheatres.co.uk/theatre/

Friday 22nd May
Cornerstone Arts Centre
Didcot
www.cornerstone-arts.org/

Saturday 23rd May
Trinity Theatre
Gainsborough
www.microsites.lincolnshire.gov.uk/tac

Sunday 24th May
Buxton Opera House
Buxton
www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk/

Tuesday 26th May
Brewhouse Theatre
Burton-Upon-Trent
www.tauntontheatre.org.uk/

Wednesday 27th May
The Spring Arts Centre
Havant
www.thespring.co.uk/

Thursday 28th May
Trinity Theatre
Tunbridge Wells
www.trinitytheatre.net/

Friday 29th – Sunday 31st May
Greenwich Theatre
London
www.greenwichtheatre.org.uk/

Tuesday 2nd June
Neauadd Dwyfor
Pwlheli
www.gwynedd.gov.uk/en/Residents/Leisure-parks-and-events/Cinemas-and-theatres/Neuadd-Dwyfor,-Pwllheli.aspx

Wednesday 3rd June
Stamford Arts Centre
Stamford
www.stamfordartscentre.com/

Thursday 4th June
Loughborough Town Hall
Loughborough
www.loughboroughtownhall.co.uk/

Friday 5th – Saturday 6th June
Rondo Theatre
Bath
www.rondotheatre.co.uk/

Tuesday 9th June
Forest Arts Centre
New Milton
www.hants.gov.uk/forest

Wednesday 10th June
Central Theatre
Chatham
tickets.medway.gov.uk/thecentraltheatre.aspx

Thursday 11th June
Guildhall Theatre
Grantham
www.guildhallartscentre.com/

Friday 12th June
Harrow Arts Centre
Harrow
www.harrowarts.com/

Monday 15th – Saturday 20th June
St James Theatre Studio
London
www.stjamestheatre.co.uk/studio/

Advertisement

You May Also Like

EF Country

The Country legend's best-known songs are getting a makeover.

EF Country

The newcomer opens up about launching his career in the middle of the pandemic.

TV

The satirical show is returning next month.



Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you