Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Arts

Trials of Oscar Wilde in aid of Stonewall

Play embarked on major UK tour to give charity performance at Greenwich Theatre.

The Trials of Oscar Wilde

There will be a special charity performance of European Arts Company’s critically acclaimed production of The Trials of Oscar Wilde in aid of the lesbian, gay and bisexual charity Stonewall. It will take place on Sunday 15th June at 7.30pm at the Greenwich Theatre, London.

Thursday 14th February 1895 was the triumphant opening night of The Importance of Being Earnest and the zenith of Oscar Wilde’s career. Fewer than 100 days later he found himself a criminal, a social outcast, bankrupt, and with two years of hard labour in prison awaiting him.

The part of Wilde’s story that is less often told is what happened during his trial? Was he harshly treated or the author of his own downfall? This production uses the actual words spoken in court, leaving audiences knowing what it was like to be in the company of a flawed genius.

The Trials of Oscar Wilde has been co-written byMerlin Holland who is Oscar Wilde’s grandson and author of ‘Irish Peacock and Scarlet Marquess: The Real Trial of Oscar Wilde’.

Merlin Holland says: ‘I’m delighted to be working with European Arts Company on a dramatised version of the trials of my grandfather, Oscar Wilde. Over the years, there have been a number of attempts to tell the story on stage but none of them has really managed to bring alive the drama of Oscar’s courtroom appearances. Using the actual words from the libel trial, recently discovered more than a hundred years after the event, and with a careful reconstruction of Wilde’s prosecution by the Crown for homosexuality, it’s a chance for audiences to see the real Oscar for the first time. This new production shows him fighting for his art as well as his life and we get a real sense of Oscar’s intellect at full stretch – his complexity, wit and deep humanity.’

Richard Lane, Media Manager of Stonewall said:‘We’re thrilled that European Arts Company are supporting our work and delighted that money raised from the June 15 showing of The Trials of Oscar Wilde will support our work to tackle homophobic bullying in schools. Many people are unaware of the persecution that Oscar Wilde faced simply because of his sexual orientation. It’s important that we continue to tell this story to inspire future generations’.

Check out our interview with the director of The Trials of Oscar Wilde: Peter Craze.

Proceeds from ticket sales for the show alongside a traditional after show bucket collection will help to raise funds for Stonewall.

For tickets, book online or call 020 8858 7755.

Tour Dates:

Saturday 31st May Cornerstone Arts Centre Didcot
Tuesday 3rd June Chelmsford Civic Theatre Chelmsford
Wednesday 4th June Bridport Arts Centre Bridport
Thursday 5th June Ashcroft Arts Centre Fareham
Friday 6th June & Saturday 7th June Rondo Theatre Bath
Tuesday 10th June Forest Arts Centre Hants
Wednesday 11th June Brixham Theatre Devon
Thursday 12th June Dorchester Arts Centre Dorchester
Friday 13th June Riverhouse Arts Centre Walton-Upon-Thames
Saturday 14th June Theatre Severn Shrewsbury
Sunday 15th June Greenwich Theatre London
Tuesday 17th June Norden Farm Arts Centre Maidenhead
Wednesday 18th June Radlett Arts Centre Herts
Thursday 19th June Theatre Royal Margate
Friday 20th June Trinity Theatre Tunbridge Wells
Saturday 21st June & Sunday 22nd June Ellen Terry Theatre Smallhythe
Tuesday 24th June Woodville Halls Gravesend
Wednesday 25th June Pomegranate Theatre Chesterfield
Thursday 26th June Trinity Arts Centre Gainsborough
Friday 27th June Ropery Hall Barton Upon Humber
Saturday 28th June Key Theatre Peterborough
Tuesday 1st July The Dugdale Centre Enfield
Wednesday 3rd July Loughborough Town Hall Loughbrorough
Friday 4th July Connaught Theatre Worthing
Saturday 5th July The Courtyard Hereford
Thursday 10th – 13th July St James Theatre London

Advertisement

You May Also Like

Music

It's 20 years since Madonna released her multi platinum Music album.

TV

‘The Singapore Grip‘ continues tonight on ITV and we’ve got a preview of the second episode for you. In a sneak peek clip, Matthew...

Music

The chart-topping duo are getting into the festive spirit.



Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you