Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Sam Smith wins BRITs Critics’ Choice Award

New compilation announced to tie-in with the award.

Sam Smith

Sam Smith has been named as the winner of this year’s BRITs Critics’ Choice Award.

A few weeks ago it was announced that Sam had made the shortlist alongside Ella Eyre and Chloe Howl. Sam has been enjoying huge success this year after hitting number 1 with La La La which was a collaboration with Naughty Boy and releasing his acclaimed EP Nirvana.

Sam will release debut single Money On My Mind in February and embark on his own headline tour.

Talking about the award Sam said, “I’m completely overwhelmed! To see my name alongside the list of former winners, artists I admire so much it, is incredible. What an amazing Christmas present. Thank you!”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Sam will be presented with his award at The BRITs Are Coming nominations announcement on Thursday 9th January.

It was also announced today that Universal Music will be releasing a Critics’ Choice compilation on 6th January featuring all the artists that have been shortlisted since the award launched in 2008. The tracklisting for the release is:

1. Sam Smith – Nirvana
2. Ella Eyre – Deeper
3. Chlöe Howl – No Strings
4. Adele – Chasing Pavements
5. Florence + The Machine – You’ve Got The Love
6. Ellie Goulding – Starry Eyed
7. Jessie J – Price Tag
8. Emeli Sandé – Read All About It, Pt. III
9. Tom Odell – Another Love
10. Foals – Cassius
11. Duffy – Mercy
12. Little Boots – Remedy
13. White Lies – To Lose My Life
14. Delphic – Doubt
15. Marina and the Diamonds – Are You Satisfied?
16. James Blake – Limit To Your Love
17. The Vaccines – If You Wanna
18. Maverick Sabre – I Need
19. Michael Kiwanuku – Home Again
20. AlunaGeorge – Attracting Flies
21. Laura Mvula – Green Garden

iTunes exclusive version will also include 5 bonus tracks:
01. Florence + The Machine – Dog Days Are Over (BRIT Nomination Live Version 2009)
02. Ellie Goulding – Starry Eyed (BRIT Nomination Live Version 2010)
03. Emeli Sandé – Next To Me (BRIT Nomination Live Version 2012)
04. Sam Smith – Nirvana (Until The Ribbon Breaks Re-Imagination)
05. Chlöe Howl – No Strings (Moto Blanco Remix)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like

EF Country

The five-piece alt-country band has released their sixth studio album.

EF Country

We spoke to Candace Lacina and Mike Little about the band's debut album.


Get your hands on the must-have item!


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you