HomeMusicNatalie Maines solo album Mother in May

Natalie Maines solo album Mother in May

The Dixie Chicks vocalist Natalie Maines is striking out on her own for debut solo album Mother, released 6th May through Sony Music.

Taking a new rockier direction for the album, Natalie has teamed up with Ben Harper who has co-produced the record with her. All of the songs on the album were selected by Natalie due to personal connections. From a cover to Jeff Buckley’s Lover You Should Have Come Over through to Eddie Vedder’s Without You, each song holds a deep meaning to Natalie.

Her Dixie Chicks band-mates Emily Robison and Martie Maguire have also lent their song-writing to the track Come Cryin’ To Me, a song that was originally intended for the band’s Taking The Long Way album.

“I wanted this music to be very different from the Dixie Chicks,” Natalie says. “Lots of albums by lead singers might just as well have been made by the band, but I think this is very different from anything the Chicks could make. That separation and distinction was important.”

The tracklisting for the album is:

1. Without You
2. Mother
3. Free Life
4. Silver Bell
5. Lover You Should’ve Come Over
6. Vein in Vain
7. Trained
8. Come Cryin’ To Me
9. I’d Run Away
10. Take It On Faith

Pip Ellwood-Hughes
Pip Ellwood-Hughes
Pip is the Editor of Entertainment Focus and the Managing Director of agency Piñata Media.

Must Read