Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

EF Country

Smith & McClennan to release Small Town Stories in November

The album is available for pre-order now.

Smith & McClennan
Credit: Laura Sparrow

Husband and wife duo Smith & McClennan – Emily Smith and Jamie McClennan – will release new album Small Town Stories on 15th November through White Fall Records.

The album features 10 tracks drawing from the couple’s life in rural south-west Scotland. It was produced by Ross Hamilton (Mark Lanegan, Isobel Campbell, Texas, Wolfstone) at Rocket Science in Glasgow, and mastered in Nashville.

Small Town Stories reflects on the duo’s deep-seated affiliation with American roots music and influences such as The Civil Wars, Gillian Welch & David Rawlings, Chris Stapleton, Miranda Lambert, Darrell Scott and Kacey Musgraves.

Smith & McClennan’s musical partnership has developed over almost 20 years. Smith is a former BBC Young Traditional Musician of the year, has twice been Scots Singer of the Year, received two BBC Radio 2 Folk Award nominations and has released eight acclaimed solo albums of traditional music. McClennan has played in his wife’s band for 17 years, as well as performing with numerous other artists.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In 2020 the duo will tour in support of Small Town Stories.

The track listing for Small Town Stories is:

2.Sailin’s A Weary Life
4.The Sweetest Girl
5.Long Way Down
7.Better Than War
8.Bricks And Mortar
9.Wait For Me
10.One More Day

Smith & McClennan are: Emily Smith (vocals); Jamie McClennan (vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, fiddle, viola).

Small Town Stories is released on 15th November on White Fall Records. It can be pre-ordered from and

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


You May Also Like


We select our favourite tracks from the iconic boyband.


Find out which films we'll be rushing out to see as soon as cinemas open again.


The four-part drama will air over four consecutive nights.


Laura Fraser and Julie Hesmondhalgh star in the six-part drama.


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you