Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Arrow Video FrightFest 2018 guests announced and two new films added

Find out which cast and crew members will be in attendance this year.

Caitlin Fitzgerald
Credit: FrightFest

Aidan Turner (Poldark) and Caitlin Fitzgerald (Masters of Sex) lead this year’s guests for Arrow Video FrightFest 2018.

The actors star together in The Man Who Killed Hitler and Then the Bigfoot and they will be accompanied by director Robert Krzykowski and composer Joe Kraemer.

Also in attendance this year will be The Ranger director Jenn Wexler and The Transfiguration star Chloe Levine on opening night. Brittany Allan (It Stains The Sands Red and Jigsaw), will attend with director Colin Minihan to support What Keeps You Alive, Shauna McDonald joins director Paul Aviary for White Chamber, Heretiks star Hannah Arterton and director Paul Hyett, Imitation Girl Lauren Ashley Carter and action heroine Angela Dixon with director Tom Paton for Black Site and director Issa Lopez to support Tigers Are Not Afraid.

Barbara Crampton, The First Lady of FrightFest, will introduce her new movies Puppet Master: The Littlest Reich and Dead Night. With the former she will be united with Italian composer extraordinaire Fabio Frizzi and with the latter by her Heroes co-star Brea Grant.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Alexis Kendra, the producer of The Cleaning Lady will also return to the festival.

The Ranger

The Ranger (Credit: FrightFest)

International directors announced for this year’s festival include Joseph Kahn (Detention, Torque) for Bodied, RKSS personnel François Simard, Anouk Whissell and Yoann-Karl Whissell will be rocking in for Summer of 84 and Upgrade director Leigh Whannell. They’ll be joined by The Golem helmers the Paz Brothers and producer Shaked Berenson, Cult of Terror director Gustavo Leonel Mendoza, Dementia Part II director Matt Mercer with stars Graham Skipper (Sequence Break), Suzanne Voss and Najarra Townsend, Hell is Where the Home is director Orson Oblowitz, Mega Time Squad director Tim van Dammen, Open 24 Hpurs director Padraig Reynolds, Hammer Horror: The Warner Brothers Years director and Doctor Who author Marcus Hearn, Lifechanger director Justin McConnell, Secret Santa director Adam Marcus, Seeds director Owen Long, The Most Assassinated Woman in the World writer/producer David Murdoch, Videoman director Kristian A. Söderström, Crystal Eyes directors Ezequiel Endelman and Leondro Montejano, and Wolfman’s Got Nards director Andre Gower (The Monster Squad).

Writer/director Axelle Carolyn (Soulmate, Tales of Halloween), author of The FrightFest Guide to Ghost Movies will be signing copies exclusively at the event.

Arrow Video FrightFest 2018 will also feature plenty of homegrown talent such as actor and director Matthew Holness with Possum, Await Further Instructions’ director Johnny Kervorkian, his producer Jack Tarling (God’s Own Country) and stars Holly Weston, Sam Gittins, Neerja Naik, Grant Masters and Kris Saddler. There’ll also be Book of Monsters director Stewart Sparke, Chuck Steel: Night of the Trampires director Mike Mort, Frankenstein’s Creature director Sam Ashurst and Ravers director Bernhard Pucher, will be attending alongside the cast including Vikings star Georgia Hirst.

All of the directors of The First Blood strand will be present with their cast and crews – CTRL director Harry Lindley, F.U.B.A.R. director Ben Kent, Perfect Skin director Kevin Chicken (with Games of Thrones star Richard Brake) and The Devil’s Doorway director Aislinn Clark.


CTRL (Credit: FrightFest)

Writer/director Roxanne Benjamin (XX, Southbound, V/H/S), will present an exclusive screening of Final Stop, a must-hear horror short produced by Sennheiser and Soapbox Films. Ghost Stories co-directors/co-writers Andy Nyman and Jeremy Dyson will host a live commentary on their mega-successful stage show-turned-major movie.

FrightFest will once again team up with Screen International for the third annual Screen Genre Rising Star Award. This year’s long list includes Kevin Chicken, director of Perfect Skin, actresses Hannah Arterton and Ella Hunt, Aislinn Clarke, director of The Devil’s Doorway, Mike Mort, director of Chuck Steel: Night of the Trampires, actress/producer Marcia Do Vales and actor Sam Gittins, The short list will be announced prior to the event.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Alongside the guest announcement, it has been revealed that David Barker’s erotic thriller Pimped and a 4K restoration of John Carpenter’s classic Halloween have been added to this year’s film slate.

Arrow Video FrightFest takes place from 23rd to 27th August 2018 at Cineworld Leicester Square and The Prince Charles Cinema. For full programme details head over to

Single tickets go on sale Saturday 21st July at noon and, alongside the few remaining Festival and day pass sales are available to buy online at

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like


All the best groups spanning the last two decades.

Games & Tech

Goes live on 1st December.

Games & Tech

It's a great time to be a player.


Copyright © 2021 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you