Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Black Sabbath to release Supersonic Years – The Seventies Singles Box Set in June

The limited edition 7″ vinyl boxset will be released by BMG.

Black Sabbath
Credit: Getty

Black Sabbath will release limited edition 7″ vinyl box set Supersonic Years – The Seventies Singles Box Set on 8th June 2018.

Released by BMG, the box set documents the band’s run of hit singles as never before and features an array of unique content. It includes five rare single edits – Iron Man, Sabbath Bloody Sabbath, Am I Going Insane (Radio), Hard Road and Symptom of the Universe.

The set has been remastered by Andy Pearce and features 10 unique colour picture sleeves from around the world, which are either ultra-rare of exclusive to the box set.

There’s also a new liner notes booklet detailing the rarities contained within the box set, along with the story behind the birth and evolution of the most culturally important genre of all time.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

During the 70s Black Sabbath put a self-imposed ban on releasing singles after feeling confined by the mainstream pop format.

“We didn’t intend to make a single in the first place,” said Tony Iommi to the Disc and Music Echo in 1971. “But after we’d completed the album, the ‘Paranoid’ track was sufficiently short to be a ‘trailer’ for the LP. We really didn’t expect it to do anything at all. We don’t go into the studio to make singles. We make LPs only. But if there is anything suitable as a result of the recordings, it would be considered, of course.”

Black Sabbath Box Set

Credit: BMG

The box set features the following singles:

Disc 1: Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)/Wicked World – 1970

Disc 2: Paranoid/The Wizard – 1970

Disc 3: Iron Man (Single Edit)/Electric Funeral – 1970

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Disc 4: Tomorrow’s Dream/Laguna Sunrise – 1972

Disc 5: Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Edited Version)/Changes – 1973

Disc 6: Am I Going Insane (Radio) (Single Edit)/Hole In The Sky – 1975

Disc 7: Gypsy/She’s Gone – 1976

Disc 8: It’s Alright/Rock ‘N’ Roll Doctor – 1976

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Disc 9: Never Say Die/She’s Gone – 1978

Disc 10: Hard Rock (Single Edit)/Symptom Of The Universe (German Single Edit) – 1978

Pre-order Supersonic Years – The Seventies Singles Box Set by visiting

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like


We select our favourite tracks from the iconic boyband.


Find out which films we'll be rushing out to see as soon as cinemas open again.


The four-part drama will air over four consecutive nights.


Laura Fraser and Julie Hesmondhalgh star in the six-part drama.


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you