Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

EF Country

March release for Mary Chapin Carpenter’s new album Sometimes Just the Sky

The star celebrates her 30-year recording career with her new album.

Mary Chapin Carpenter
Credit: Ethan Johns

Mary Chapin Carpenter will release new album Sometimes Just the Sky on 30th March 2018 via Thirty Tigers.

The record is a celebration of Carpenter’s 30-year recording career and it features new versions of some of her most beloved songs. The title track, Sometimes Just the Sky, is the only new original included.

The 13-track was produced by Ethan Johns (Ryan Adams, Ray LaMontagne) and recorded entirely live at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios outside Bath, England. Carpenter was joined by long-time collaborator Duke Levine on guitar and a handpicked band of Johns’ favourite musicians.

For the record Carpenter chose one track from each of her 12 albums and recorded a new version of it.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

On the album title and newest song Carpenter says, “I read a beautiful interview with Patti Smith in which she said that you don’t have to look far or wide, and it doesn’t have to be complicated or expensive or madness in order to find things to soothe you in life, or to be happy about. Sometimes just the sky makes everything fall into perspective.”

Fans can see Carpenter on tour in the UK this May at the following dates:

07 May – Gateshead – The Sage
08 May – Glasgow – Royal Concert Hall
09 May – Birmingham – Town Hall
11 May – Basingstoke – The Anvil
12 May – Worthing – Assembly Hall
14 May – Canterbury – Marlowe Theatre
15 May – London – Barbican
16 May – Bath – Bath Festival (The Forum)
17 May – Norwich – Norfolk & Norwich Festival (Theatre Royal)

The track list for Sometimes Just the Sky is:

1. Heroes and Heroines
2. What Does It Mean To Travel
3. I Have A Need For Solitude
4. One Small Heart
5. The Moon and St. Christopher
6. Superman
7. Naked To The Eye
8. Rhythm of the Blues
9. This is Love
10. Jericho
11. The Calling
12. This Shirt
13. Sometimes Just The Sky

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


You May Also Like


The aussie singer/songwriter announces her sixth album.


The icon has a new collection of songs coming this autumn.


The new single is out to stream and download now.


Johnnie To's atmospheric noir thriller could be yours.


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you