Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Music

Richard Thompson announces new releases and UK tour

Two album releases will arrive in August.

Richard Thompson
Credit: Pamela Littky

Guitarist and songwriter Richard Thompson has announced the release of two albums and a UK tour.

Richard will release Acoustic Classics Vol. 2 and Acoustic Rarities on 11th August ahead of a UK tour that kicks off in October.

Acoustic Classics Vol. 2 follows the release of 2014’s Acoustic Classics. The album will feature acoustic versions of songs from Richard’s catalogue – some previously recorded by other singers, some previously available only in a band format.

Acoustic Rarities features new recordings of some of the more obscure songs in the musician’s catalogue, some previously existing only as cover versions.

Special three-disc vinyl LP and double CD versions of both albums together will be released exclusively via Pledge Music and can be pre-ordered at www.pledgemusic.com/projects/richardthompson.

Richard will kick off his tour in Brighton on 11th October and he’ll be joined on the road by Josienne Clarke and Ben Walker.

The full dates are:

Wed 11 October – Brighton Dome
Thu 12 October – Guildford G-Live
Fri 13 October – Poole Lighthouse
Sat 14 October – Bristol Colston Hall
Sun 15 October – Cardiff Wales Millennium Centre
Tue 17 October – Edinburgh Usher Hall
Wed 18 October – Gateshead Sage
Thu 19 October – Salford Lowry
Sat 21 October – Saffron Walden Saffron Hall
Sun 22 October – Coventry Warwick Arts Centre
Wed 25 October – Sheffield City Hall
Thu 26 October – Leicester de Montfort Hall
Fri 27 October – Basingstoke Anvil
Sat 28 October – Norwich Theatre Royal
Mon 30 October – London Bridge Theatre

All shows on public sale at 10am on Friday 12 May (except Saffron Walden June 6) from www.serious.org.uk/Thompson.

Advertisement

You May Also Like

TV

The two-part series is based on real-life events.

Games & Tech

At no additional cost!

EF Country

The newcomer opens up about launching his career in the middle of the pandemic.

TV

The satirical show is returning next month.



Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you