Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


The Natalie Merchant Collection arrives in June

Revisit the singer-songwriter’s three decade career and hear new material.

Natalie Merchant
Credit: Jacob Blickenstaff

The Natalie Merchant Collection, a deluxe 10-CD box set compiled by Natalie herself, will be released by Nonesuch Records on 23rd June 2017.

The box set comprises all eight of Natalie’s solo studio albums from the past three decades along with a ninth disc, Butterfly, which is a new studio album featuring four new songs and six reinterpreted tracks from her catalogue all arranged for string quartet.

The final disc in the set is Rarities, a collection of 15 rare and previously unreleased tracks recorded between 1998 and 2017. They are a mixture of home studio demos, album outtakes, live tracks, and collaborations with diverse artists like Billy Bragg, David Byrne, The Chieftains, Cowboy Junkies, and Amy Helm.

The Natalie Merchant Collection comes with a 100-page lyric book and pictorial history of Natalie’s career.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Fans can pre-order The Natalie Merchant Collection now at with an instant download of the new recording of Frozen Charlotte from the Butterfly disc as well as an exclusive, limited-edition print autographed by Natalie.

In support of the release Natalie will tour the US this summer with Natalie Merchant: 3 Decades of Song. A portion of the tour’s proceeds will be donated to the environmental organization Food & Water Watch, which champions healthy food and clean water. Tickets are on sale now, and more information may be found at

The full details of The Natalie Merchant Collection are:

Disc 1 – Tigerlily (1995)

1. San Andreas Fault
2. Wonder
3. Beloved Wife
4. River
5. Carnival
6. I May Know The Word
7. The Letter
8. Cowboy Romance
9. Jealousy
10. Where I Go
11. Seven Years

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Disc 2 – Ophelia (1998)

1. Ophelia
2. Life Is Sweet
3. Kind & Generous
4. Frozen Charlotte
5. My Skin
6. Break Your Heart
7. King Of May
8. Thick As Thieves
9. Effigy
10. The Living
11. When They Ring the Golden Bells

Disc 3 – Motherland (2001)

1. This House Is on Fire
2. Motherland
3. Saint Judas
4. Put The Law on You
5. Build a Levee
6. Golden Boy
7. Henry Darger
8. The Worst Thing
9. Tell Yourself
10. Just Can’t Last
11. Not in This Life
12. I’m Not Gonna Beg

Disc 4 – The House Carpenter’s Daughter (2003)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

1. Sally Ann
2. Which Side Are You On?
3. Crazy Man Michael
4. Diver Boy
5. Weeping Pilgrim
6. Soldier, Soldier
7. Bury Me Under the Weeping Willow
8. House Carpenter
9. Owensboro
10. Down On Penny’s Farm
11. Poor Wayfaring Stranger

Disc 5 – Leave Your Supper (2010)

1. Nursery Rhyme of Innocence and Experience
2. Equestrienne
3. Calico Pie
4. Bleezer’s Ice-Cream
5. It Makes a Change
6. The King of China’s Daughter
7. The Dancing Bear
8. The Man in the Wilderness
9. maggie and milly and molly and may
10. If No One Ever Marries Me
11. The Sleepy Giant
12. The Peppery Man
13. The Blind Men and the Elephant

Disc 6 – Leave Your Sleep (2010)

1. Adventures of Isabel
2. The Walloping Window Blind
3. Topsyturvey-World
4. The Janitor’s Boy
5. Griselda
6. The Land of Nod
7. Vain & Careless
8. Crying, My Little One
9. Sweet & a Lullaby
10. I Saw a Ship A-Sailing
11. Autumn Lullaby
12. Spring and Fall: to a young child
13. Indian Names

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Disc 7 – Natalie Merchant (2014)

1. Ladybird
2. Maggie Said
3. Texas
4. Go Down, Moses
5. Seven Deadly Sins
6. Giving Up Everything
7. Black Sheep
8. It’s A-Coming
9. Lulu (Introduction)
10. Lulu
11. The End

Disc 8 – Paradise Is There: The New Tigerlily Recordings (2015)

1. San Andreas Fault
2. Beloved Wife
3. Carnival
4. River
5. The Letter
6. Where I Go
7. I May Know the Word
8. Seven Years
9. Cowboy Romance
10. Jealousy
11. Wonder

Disc 9 – Butterfly (2017)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

1. Butterfly
2. She Devil
3. Baby Mine
4. Frozen Charlotte
5. Ophelia
6. The Worst Thing
7. The Man in the Wilderness
8. My Skin
9. Vain & Careless
10. Andalucía

Disc 10 – Rarities (1998–2017)

1. The Village Green Preservation Society
2. Too Long at the Fair
3. Order 1081 (with David Byrne & Fatboy Slim)
4. To Love Is to Bury (with Cowboy Junkies)
5. Saint Judas
6. Birds & Ships (with Billy Bragg)
7. The Lowlands of Holland (with The Chieftains)
8. Sonnet 73
9. Learning the Game
10. My Little Sweet Baby
11. Political Science
12. Build a Levee
13. Sit Down, Sister
14. The Gulf of Araby
15. Portofino

Listen to Frozen Charlotte below:

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like

Games & Tech

Finished the main game? These mods should keep you going for a while longer.


Stephen King's 1987 horror classic is released in exclusive hardback edition.


Exclusive two-volume set has introduction by photographer Wade Davis and preface by Jan Morris.


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you