Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


UK Americana Awards 2017 nominations announced

Lewis & Leigh, Billy Bragg and Margo Price among the nominees.

Lewis & Leigh
Credit: Celticana Records

The nominations for the UK Americana Awards 2017 have been announced.

The announcements took place tonight at Gibson Studios in London. They were co-presented by Imelda May and Baylen Leonard.

Leading the charge is Richard Thompson who will receive the highest honour, the UK Americana Lifetime Achievement Award. The award recognises Thompson’s contribution to the Americana genre over his life and career.

Thompson commented, “I’m deeply honoured to receive this award. My heartfelt thanks to AMA-UK.”

The UK Americana Awards 2017 take place on Thursday 2nd February at St John at Hackney, London. The show will be hosted by legendary broadcaster Bob Harris and will feature performances from nominees and award winners, including Richard Thompson.

The UK Americana Awards are part of AmericanaFest UK, a two-day event which will also include an evening of showcases on Wednesday 1st February featuring 20 bands playing in various venues around Hackney and daytime conferences on both days.

The full list of nominations is:

UK Album of the Year

Ghost by Lewis & Leigh (produced by Matt Ingram)
Mockingbird Lane by Danni Nicholls (produced by Chris Donohue)
Nos Da Comrade by Peter Bruntnell (produced by Peter Bruntnell)
Palomino by Treetop Flyers (produced by Treetop Flyers)

International Album of the Year

A Sailor’s Guide To Earth by Sturgill Simpson (produced by Sturgill Simpson)
American Band by Drive-By Truckers (produced by David Barbe)
Angeleno by Sam Outlaw (produced by Joachim Cooder and Ry Cooder)
Midwest Farmer’s Daughter by Margo Price (produced by Alex Munoz and Matt Ross-Spang)

UK Song of the Year

‘Mr Sunshine’ by Peter Bruntnell (written by Peter Bruntnell and Bill Ritchie)
‘Silver Liner’ by Ethan Johns & the Black-Eyed Dogs (written by Ethan Johns)
‘Tend To The Thorns’ by William the Conqueror (written by Ruarri Joseph)
‘The 4:19’ by Lewis & Leigh (written by Al Lewis and Alva Leigh)

International Song of the Year

‘Dust’ by Lucinda Williams (written by Lucinda Williams)
‘Hands of Time’ by Margo Price (written by Margo Price)
‘Somebody Save Me’ by Cale Tyson (written by Cale Tyson)
‘Welcome To Earth (Pollywog)’ by Sturgill Simpson (written by Sturgill Simpson)

UK Artist of the Year

Bear’s Den
Billy Bragg
Lewis & Leigh
Yola Carter

International Artist of the Year

Margo Price
Mary Chapin Carpenter
Richmond Fontaine
Sturgill Simpson

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

CJ Hillman
Dave Little
Henry Senior
Kirk Bowman

Lifetime Achievement Award

Richard Thompson

Earlybird tickets are on sale now: Balcony and VIP


You May Also Like


It's 20 years since Madonna released her multi platinum Music album.


‘The Singapore Grip‘ continues tonight on ITV and we’ve got a preview of the second episode for you. In a sneak peek clip, Matthew...


The chart-topping duo are getting into the festive spirit.

Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you