HomeEF CountryNominations announced for British Country Music Awards

Nominations announced for British Country Music Awards

The nominees for this year’s British Country Music Awards have been announced.

Raintown lead the nominations picking up four while Ben Earle, of The Shires, has picked up three nominations – two of which are with his band-mate Crissie Rhodes – and Nathan Carter has picked up a nomination for Entertainer of the Year.

The awards will take place on Saturday 29th and Sunday 30th October 2016. The weekend will open with a Best of British Showcase featuring Dexeter, The Southern Companion, Thorne Hill, Gary Quinn and guest American Beau Fuller.

A spokesman for the awards said, ‘The quality of the British acts who have come to the fore since British Country music has stepped up to the mark means we shall be soon listening to more of our own acts rather than importing them from across the world. We can match the US with quality, we just need to get them publicised more. The likes of The Southern Companion, Holloway Road, The Shires and Ward Thomas are creating waves and it is no wonder the large recording companies have opened offices in London.’

Members of the British Country Music Association will have the final say on the winners when voting takes place.

The full list of nominations is:

Entertainer of the Year

The Shires
Nathan Carter
Jess & The Bandits
Gary Perkins

Group of the Year

Jess & The Bandits
Gary Quinn Band
Red Sky July

Female Vocalist of the Year

Laura Oakes
Claire McArthur-Bain (Raintown)
Katy Hurt
Jessica Clemmons (Jess & The Bandits)
Crissie Rhodes (The Shires)

Musician of the Year

Lee Guyler
Justin Johnson
Scott Poley
Sarah Jory
John Pettifer

Duo of the Year

Ward Thomas
The Shires
Luke & Mel
Holloway Road
Ashton Lane

UK Album of the Year

Belle Cannon – Evolution
The Southern Companion – 1000 Days Of Rain
Raintown – Writing On The Wall
Thorne Hill – No More Holding Back
Red Sky July – The Truth And The Lie

Male Vocalist of the Year

Thorne Hill
Ben Earle (The Shires)
Nathan Carter
Pete Kennedy
Gary Quinn

Horizon Act of the Year

The Southern Companion
Acoustic Journey
Samantha Lloyd

UK Song of the Year

The Southern Companion – Crash
Katy Hurt – Love You More
Luke & Mel – Bad Habit
Ashton Lane – Seventeen
Raintown – Nineteen Again

International Song of the Year

Chris Stapleton – Tennessee Whiskey
Thomas Rhett – Die A Happy Man
Tim McGraw – Humble And Kind
Maren Morris – My Church
Carrie Underwood – Smoke Break

International Album of the Year

Chris Stapleton – Traveller
Thomas Rhett – Tangled Up
Carrie Underwood – Storyteller
Eric Church – Mr Misunderstood
Chris Young – I’m Coming Over

International Act of the Year

Little Big Town
Dixie Chicks
Phil Vassar
Thomas Rhett
Kip Moore

Video of the Year

Thorne Hill – Open Road
Raintown – Writing On The Wall
Luke & Mel – Bad Habit
Gary Quinn – Dodge Your Bullet
The Southern Companion – Drive

For more details of the Awards Show and the Best of British event to be held the day before at the same venue in London or go to bcmawards.co.uk.

Pip Ellwood-Hughes
Pip Ellwood-Hughes
Pip is the Editor of Entertainment Focus and the Managing Director of agency Piñata Media.

Must Read