Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


One Direction wins Ticketmaster Best Live Act Award at the O2 Silver Clef Awards

The group picks up the award for the second time.

One DIrection
Credit: Syco

One Direction have been voted the winner of the Ticketmaster Best Live Act award at today’s O2 Silver Clef Awards.

The only award voted for by the public at the awards, One Direction picked up over 60% of the total vote beating other nominees Adele, Ed Sheeran, Little Mix and Muse. This marks the second time that the group has won the award.

Voting took place during May and June 2016 with the public casting their votes via the Nordoff Robbins website and Twitter. They had a shortlist of 10 artists who played in the UK between March 2015 and March 2016 to pick from.

Joining One Direction on the shortlist were Little Mix, Muse, The 1975, Florence and the Machine, Ed Sheeran, Bring Me The Horizon, Catfish and the Bottlemen, Rudimental and Adele.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

On their win, One Direction said, “Thank you to all our fans for voting! Our live show is so important and it is amazing for this to be recognised by winning the Ticketmaster Best Live Act Award for the second time.”

Chris Edmonds, Chairman of Ticketmaster UK says, “One Direction truly are a global success story and they proved their popularity once again this past year, selling out arenas up and down the UK with their ‘On The Road Again’ tour. The all British line up of nominees for the Ticketmaster Best Live Act award was great to see, but One Direction were the clear winners, Congratulations!”

Previous winners of the Best Live Act Award include Artic Monkeys (2015), Justin Timberlake (2014), One Direction (2013), McFly (2012) and Sir Paul McCartney (2011).

Nordoff Robbins has already announced the 10 other winners at the O2 Silver Clef Awards 2016. They are:

Hozier – Raymond Weil International Award
Patti Smith – Google Outstanding Achievement Award
Massive Attack – Royal Albert Hall Best Band
Jess Glynne – Jack Daniel’s Best Newcomer
Olly Murs – AEG Live Best Male
Florence Welch – Best Female
Craig David – American Express Innovation Award
Jeff Lynne – London Evening Standard Icon Award
Lionel Richie – O2 Silver Clef Award
André Rieu – PPL Classical Award

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


You May Also Like

EF Country

The five-piece alt-country band has released their sixth studio album.

EF Country

We spoke to Candace Lacina and Mike Little about the band's debut album.


Get your hands on the must-have item!


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you