Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


BAFTA TV Craft Awards – Winners announced

Find out who won at last night’s BAFTA TV Craft Awards.

Call The Midwife

The winners of this year’s BAFTA TV Craft Awards have been announced last night at a glittery ceremony in London.

Call The Midwife and the Olympics and Paralympics coverage won awards. with three prizes being won by the technical teams behind the coverage of London 2012.

In recognition of his outstanding creative contribution to the industry and his extensive work and accomplishments in his field, the Special Award was presented to multi-camera director, Hamish Hamilton.  Bono, Robbie Williams, Usher & Beyonce were amongst those who shared stories and offered their congratulations to Hamish during a tribute package shown at the event.

The winners and nominees were:

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Breakthrough Talent
Mike Bartlett – The Town
Julie Gearey – Prisoners’ Wives
Rhys Thomas – Freddie Mercury: The Great Pretender (Director’s Cut)
Tim Whitnall – Best Possible Taste: The Kenny Everett Story – WINNER

Costume Design
Amy Roberts – Mrs Biggs
Sheena Napier – Parade’s End – WINNER
Odile Dicks-Mireaux – Richard II (The Hollow Crown)
Lorna Marie Mugan – Ripper Street

Digital Creativity
Steve Boulton, James Rutherford – Channel 4 Paralympics – WINNER
Production Team – Embarrassing Bodies: Live from the Clinic
Production Team – Foxes Live: Wild in the City
Production Team – The Great British Property Scandal

Director (Factual)
Katharine English – Our War
Ben Chanan – The Plot to Bring Down Britain’s Planes – WINNER
John Dower – Bradley Wiggins: A Year in Yellow
Ben Anthony – 7/7 One Day in London

Director (Fiction)
Philippa Lowthorpe – Call the Midwife – WINNER
Julian Jarrold – The Girl
Hettie McDonald – Hit and Miss
Birger Larsen – Murder

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Director (Multi-Camera)
Nikki Parsons – Strictly Come Dancing
Hamish Hamilton, Tapani Parm – The London 2012 Olympic Opening Ceremony: Isle of Wonder – WINNER
Hamish Hamilton, Tapani Parm – The London 2012 Olympic Closing Ceremony: Symphony of British Music
Paul Davies – The London 2012 Olympics: Super Saturday

Editing (Factual)
Michael Harrowes – The Secret History of Our Streets (‘Portland Road’)
Rupert Houseman – 7/7 One Day in London
Peter Christelis – Britain in a Day
Sean Mackenzie – Amish: A Secret Life – WINNER

Editing (Fiction)
Trevor Waite – The Fear – WINNER
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle – Ripper Street
Anthony Boys, Gary Dollner – The Thick of It
Gareth Scales – The Hour (Ep 1)

Entertainment Craft Team
Stephen Bryce, Andrew Cooke, Simon Ainge, Nick Foster – Derren Brown: Apocalypse – WINNER
Durham Marenghi, Steve Nolan, Sam Pattinson, Tim Routledge – The Diamond Jubilee Concert
Dan James, James Hart, Richard Porter, Kate Jones-Mackay – Top Gear
Dave Davey, Robert Edwards, Florian Wieder, Julien Rigal – The X Factor Final

Make-Up and Hair Design
Christine Walmesley-Cotham – Call the Midwife – WINNER
Nadine Prigge, Neill Gorton, Clinton Aiden Smith – The Girl
Jan Archibald – Parade’s End
Eileen Buggy, Sharon Doyle – Ripper Street

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Original Music
Murray Gold – Doctor Who (‘Asylum of the Daleks’)
Kevin Sargent – The Hour
Ilan Eshkeri, Andy Burrows – The Snowman and the Snowdog
Stephen Warbeck – Henry IV (The Hollow Crown) – WINNER

Photography (Factual)
Steve Robinson – Amish: A Secret Life – WINNER
Tim Cragg, Robert Hollingworth, Tim Shepherd – Kingdom of Plants 3D
Rupert Binsley – Return to the Falklands
Julius Brighton, Paul O’Callaghan – Supersized Earth

Photography and Lighting (Fiction)
Christopher Ross – Blackout
Gavin Finney – The Fear – WINNER
Balazs Bolygo – Hunted
Julian Court – Ripper Street

Production Design
Darryl Hammer – The Girl – WINNER
Eve Stewart – The Hour
Martin Childs – Parade’s End
Donal Woods – Downton Abbey

Sound (Factual)
Peter Bridges – The London 2012 Olympics: Super Saturday – WINNER
George Foulgham, Sebastian Dunn – Brazil with Michael Palin
Chris Lebert, Robert Entwistle, Russell Edwards, Kiff McManus – Top Gear
Grant Covacic, Pete Lee, Karl Mainzer, Michael Wood – The Plane Crash

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Sound (Fiction)
Tim Fraser, Adrian Rhodes, Keith Marriner – Richard II (The Hollow Crown) – WINNER
Paul Hamblin, Matt Skelding, Jim Goddard, Martin Beresford – Wallander
Graham Headicar, Emma Pegram, Stuart Hilliker, Grant Bridgeman – Accused (‘Mo & Sue’s Story’)
John Mooney, Nigel Squibbs, Jamie Caple, Marc Lawes – The Hour

Visual and Graphic Effects
The Mill – Doctor Who
Rupert Ray, Benuts – Parade’s End
Robin Nurse, Julian Gibbs, Richard Gort – The Psychology of Winning
Tom Turnbull – Titanic – WINNER

Writer (Drama)
Shaun Duggan, Jimmy McGovern – Accused (‘Tracie’s Story’)
Gwyneth Hughes – The Girl
Sally Wainwright – Last Tango in Halifax – WINNER
Tom Stoppard – Parade’s End

Writer (Comedy)
Jo Brand, Vicki Pepperdine, Joanna Scanlan – Getting On
Julia Davis – Hunderby – WINNER
Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche, Simon Blackwell – The Thick of It
John Morton – Twenty Twelve

Special Award
Hamish Hamilton

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


You May Also Like

Games & Tech

As part of the Steam Next Fest and Xbox Summer Game Fest events.


A sparkling new release for this iconic 90s thriller


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you