Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

EF Country

Marcus King to release solo album El Dorado in January

Listen to first single The Well now.

Marcus King
Credit: Alysse Gafkjen

Marcus King will release his debut solo album El Dorado on January 17th 2020 via Snakefarm Records.

The 12-track release is produced by Grammy Award winner Dan Auerbach. El Dorado is described as ‘a contemporary sonic exploration of classic rock, blues, southern R&B and country-soul, where subtle acoustics and pedal steel shine bright alongside raucous electric guitars and blistering solos’.

Take a listen to first single The Well below:

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

King and Auerbach co-wrote the 12 songs for El Dorado in only three days.

On working with Marcus, Dan stated: “Marcus is known by so many as a phenom guitar player, and rightfully so. He’s regularly the best player in the room, hands down. I was equally blown away by the way he can sing – so effortless, so soulful, straight from the heart. He’s a naturally gifted writer too, which was clear straight away. Everything for him is so innate – that’s why he can always go right to the heart of a song and connect in a deeper way. He’s really one of a kind and I’m proud I got to work alongside him on this record.”

King has been playing professionally since he was 11-years-old. He is a fourth-generation musician who followed in his family’s footsteps. At the age of 23, King has already been performing live for 15 years.

El Dorado was written and recorded at Auerbach’s Nashville studio, Easy Eye Sound, with legendary writers including Paul Overstreet, Ronnie Bowman and Pat McLaughlin.

Auerbach also enlisted revered studio musicians including drummer Gene Chrisman and keyboard player Bobby Wood. Their renowned work as members of the American Sound Studio band includes Dusty Springfield’s Son of a Preacher Man, Elvis Presley’s Suspicious Minds and hits by Bobby Womack, Joe Tex & many others.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The track-listing for El Dorado is:

1. Young Man’s Dream
2. The Well
3. Wildflowers & Wine
4. One Day She’s Here
5. Sweet Mariona
6. Beautiful Stranger
7. Break
8. Say You Will
9. Turn It Up
10. Too Much Whiskey
11. Love Song
12. No Pain


You May Also Like


Limited edition four volume set has illustrations from 24 artists.


Kate encounters a face from the past with links to organised crime.


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you