Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Thomas Spencer – The Journey album review

A lovely album, featuring a number of interesting song choices.

Thomas Spencer
Credit: Cove Music

Thomas Spencer - The Journey

Credit: Cove Music

Thomas Spencer hails from a small village in Derbyshire. Thomas is a classically trained singer, having studied at the Trinity College of Music, followed by the Royal Academy of Music. Along with his brother Oliver – they released their first album called Credere. Five years in the making – the second album is called The Journey, which, as the title suggests, is all about the path that has been travelled to reach the current destination.

There are some interesting song choices on the album. There are a number of cover songs and original songs. The leading single – It’s Your Day – opens up the album with a type of life-affirming, positive energy throughout. Brave Enough to Change follows on from there, with an uplifting feel, continuing the flow of the album. The song that is probably the biggest surprise is a cover of Rammstein’s Mein Herz Brennt (My Heart Burns). Their response to covering the song was: “Why ever not? We only do covers of songs we love”. The song is sung in German and songs associated with Rammstein are of course in the metal/heavy rock genre. But here, they have managed to completely change the song in its entirety, to make it in to a classical song, and that’s quite a feat. If you didn’t know the song, you would never guess that it originally belonged to Rammstein.

The cover songs that have been chosen on the album are a million miles away from the likes of Nessun Dorma and Jerusalem, which are so often covered on albums in this genre. Their powerful take on The Sound of Silence also works well – and it just so happens to be their Mum’s favourite song. The Who’s Baba O’Riley is given an Italian makeover, proving that they can sing in a number of languages with total ease. The album flows with a strong, classic, well rounded feel. It’s one of those albums that you put on and admire the luscious vocals. The album ends with the bonus track – Jenny’s Theme, which is a relaxing and soothing instrumental.

The vocals on the album are really great. And although there are a number of cover versions on the album, what makes them stand out from the other acts who are in the contemporary and classical crossover bracket, are the bold song choices. The only problem with settling in to that niche though, is the danger of coming over as cheesy, and as something that has already been overly done, repeating successful, albeit slightly cliché formats. There is a musical theatre feel to the album, and Michael Ball fans and the like would enjoy it. It will be interesting to see how the music proceeds and grows from here, as I feel like there is huge potential here to grow in to something special.


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Track List: 1. It’s Your Day 2. Brave Enough To Change 3. Baba O’Riley 4. Somehow 5. La Luce 6. My Love 7. The Sound of Silence 8. And I Love You So 9. Lullaby 10. Grazie 11. A Love Song 12. Where You Stand 13. Mein Herz Brennt 14. My Journey 13. Bonus track – Jenny’s Theme. Record Label: Cove Records


You May Also Like


Already got Central Perk? Get your hands on this new set.


Take a listen to the singer-songwriter's new single.

EF Country

The Country star's new single is out to download and stream now.


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you