Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

EF Country

Kacey Musgraves, Chris Cornell, Jewel feature on Johnny Cash: Forever Words

The Country legend’s unknown poetry and lyrics have been recorded by a host of big name artists.

Johnny Cash
Credit: Sony Music

A host of big name artists are coming together for the release of Johnny Cash: Forever Words.

The collection, due for release on Legacy Records on 6th April 2018, consists of songs created from the late Cash’s unknown poetry, lyrics, and letters set to music. The release will be available on CD, 2LP Vinyl and Digital formats.

Artists taking part in the album include Kacey Musgraves, Jewel, Alison Krauss and Union Station, Elvis Costello and Brad Paisley. The late Chris Cornell is also featured on the collection.


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Johnny Cash: Forever Words is co-produced by Johnny and June Carter Cash’s song John Carter Cash. The material featured on the release includes Johnny Cash’s handwritten letters, poems and documents, penned across the entirety of his life.

It has taken two years to put Johnny Cash: Forever Words together. The project was recorded primarily at The Cash Cabin Studio in Hendersonville, Tennessee with John Carter Cash and Steve Berkowitz as producers.

“Determining the artist for each song was truly a matter of the heart,” said John Carter Cash. “I picked the artists who are most connected with my father, who had a personal story that was connected with Dad. It became an exciting endeavor to go through these works, to put them together and present them to different people who could finish them in a way that I believed that Dad would have wanted.”

It’s the musical companion to the best-selling Forever Words: The Unknown Poems, a volume of Cash’s unpublished writing edited by Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Paul Muldoon and curated by John Carter Cash and Steve Berkowitz.

The track listing for Johnny Cash: Forever Words is:

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

1. Forever/I Still Miss Someone – Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson
2. To June This Morning – Ruston Kelly and Kacey Musgraves
3. Gold All Over the Ground – Brad Paisley
4. You Never Knew My Mind – Chris Cornell
5. The Captain’s Daughter – Alison Krauss and Union Station
6. Jellico Coal Man – T. Bone Burnett
7. The Walking Wounded – Rosanne Cash
8. Them Double Blues – John Mellencamp
9. Body on Body – Jewel
10. I’ll Still Love You – Elvis Costello
11. June’s Sundown – Carlene Carter
12. He Bore It All – Daily and Vincent
13. Chinky Pin Hill – I’m With Her
14. Goin’, Goin’, Gone – Robert Glasper featuring Ro James, and Anu Sun
15. What Would I Dreamer Do? – The Jayhawks
16. Spirit Rider – Jamey Johnson


You May Also Like

EF Country

The songwriter turned artist opens up about his successful year.

EF Country

We spoke to the rising country singer-songwriter about her new single and her plans for next year.

Games & Tech

Out now on PC, Xbox X/S and PS5.


Copyright © 2021 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you