HomeEF CountryRobert Plant to receive Lifetime Achievement Award at UK Americana Awards 2018

Robert Plant to receive Lifetime Achievement Award at UK Americana Awards 2018

Singer, songwriter and musician Robert Plant will receive the 2018 UK Americana Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2018 UK Americana Awards.

The musician will be recognised for his contribution to Americana over the span of his incredible career.

“We are so excited to announce that Robert Plant will be accepting our Lifetime Achievement Award in 2018. The award is our highest honour and it couldn’t be going to a more deserving recipient. Over the course of a legendary career, from his early love of blues and rock’n’roll, through the seventies with rock pioneers Led Zeppelin, to a solo career that has never stood still, Robert Plant has introduced countless millions of music lovers to American roots music. In 2007 he released the iconic Raising Sand album with bluegrass star Alison Krauss, creating new fusions in the Americana world and garnering six Grammys along the way. His latest album, Carry Fire, continues to combine elements of American roots and blues with folk styles from the UK and beyond,” commented Stevie Freeman, CEO Americana Music Association UK.

During last night’s launch the full list of nominations were announced and it was revealed that The Wandering Hearts will be awarded the Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award.

2018’s ceremony will feature a new award, The Grass Roots Award, which celebrates the unsung heroes of the UK Americana scene. It is presented to people working in the industry, in a capacity other than as artists. The first winners are Come Down & Meet The Folks, Alan Tyler & Big Steve.

The full list of nominations for the awards is:

UK Album of the Year

Brilliant Light by Danny & The Champions of The World (produced by Chris Clarke)
I’ll Make The Most Of My Sins by Robert Vincent (produced by Robert Vincent, Michael Gay and Etienne Girard)
Proud Disturber Of The Peace by William The Conqueror (produced by Ruarri Joseph and Harry Harding)
Sweet Kind Of Blue by Emily Barker (produced by Matt Ross-Spang)

International Album of the Year

A Deeper Understanding by The War On Drugs (produced by Adam Granduciel)
Honest Life by Courtney Marie Andrews (produced by Courtney Marie Andrews)
So You Wannabe An Outlaw by Steve Earle & The Dukes (produced by Richard Bennett)
The Nashville Sound by Jason Isbell (produced by Dave Cobb)

UK Song of the Year

Devon Brigade by Police Dog Hogan (written by James Studholme)
Endless Road by Worry Dolls (written by Zoe Nicol, Rosie Jones and Jeff Cohen)
Home by Yola Carter (written by Yola Carter)
Moonshine by Foy Vance (written by Foy Vance)

International Song of the Year

Pa’lante by Hurray For The Riff Raff (written by Alynda Segarra and Pedro Pietri)
Ready To Die by Aaron Lee Tasjan (written by Aaron Lee Tasjan)
Thirteen Silver Dollars by Colter Wall (written by Colter Wall)
Tenderheart by Sam Outlaw (written by Sam Outlaw)

UK Artist of the Year

Danni Nicholls
Danny & The Champions of The World
Emily Barker
Laura Marling

International Artist of the Year

Angaleena Presley
Courtney Marie Andrews
Imelda May
Rhiannon Giddens

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

Georgina Leach
Kit Hawes
Harry Harding
Thomas Collison

Lifetime Achievement Award

Robert Plant

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award

The Wandering Hearts

The Grass Roots Award

Come Down & Meet The Folks, Alan Tyler & Big Steve

The Trailblazer Award will be announced at a later date and The Best-Selling Americana Album of 2017 will be announced at the Awards show

The third annual UK Americana Awards will take place on Thursday 1st February 2018 at Hackney Empire. Tickets are available from http://theamauk.org/tickets

Pip Ellwood-Hughes
Pip Ellwood-Hughes
Pip is the Editor of Entertainment Focus and the Managing Director of agency Piñata Media.

Must Read