Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

EF Country

Shane Richie to release Country album A Country Soul

The entertainer will release the collection next month.

Shane Richie - A Country Soul
Credit: EastWest Records

Shane Richie is returning to music with the release of contemporary Country music album A Country Soul.

The set, released on 10th November 2017 through East West Records, is a collection of interpretations of Richie’s favourite Country songs with a handful of originals mixed in. Fans who pre-order A Country Soul from will get Richie’s version of Pat Green’s Wave on Wave instantly.

On the album Richie covers songs from artists such as Jon Pardi (Heartache on the Dance Floor), Rascal Flatts (What Hurts the Most) and Darius Rucker (Wagon Wheel). He also puts a Country spin on Nik Kershaw’s I Won’t Let the Sun Go Down On Me and Stephen Bishop’s On and On.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“What I love about new country is that they all write from the heart,” says Shane. “They write stories. That’s kinda where my head was, with the songs we wrote and the songs I was covering. So, yeah, this is from the heart – and the heartland of new country.”

A Country Soul features original song Shut Up (Cause All I Want Is You) written by Richie with his son Jake Roche, the frontman of Rixton, and the personal That Bottle Ain’t Your Friend, which explores Richie’s struggles with alcoholism.

Richie will preview the album this Friday when he performs Heartache On The Dancefloor on Strictly Come Dancing: It Takes Two.

The track listing for A Country Soul is:

1. Heartache On The Dancefloor (Jon Pardi)
2. I Loved Her First (Heartland)
3. Wave On Wave (Pat Green)
4. Shut Up (‘Cause All I Want Is You) (original new song)
5. I Won’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (Nik Kershaw)
6. What Hurts The Most (Rascal Flatts)
7. Wagon Wheel (Darius Rucker)
8. Heartache Tonight (The Eagles)
9. That Bottle Ain’t Your Friend (original new song)
10. Love The One You’re With (Stephen Stills)
11. On and On (Stephen Bishop)
12. Drift Away (Dobie Gray)
13. 22 Gardens (original new song)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


You May Also Like

EF Country

The Americana singer-songwriter makes an impressive debut.


Copyright © 2021 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you