Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

EF Country

Charles Esten to host 2017 CMT Music Awards

The Nashville star will host this year’s event.

Charles Esten
Credit: CMT

Nashville star Charles Esten will present the 2017 CMT Music Awards it has been announced.

The fan-voted event airs on CMT live from Nashville on Wednesday 7th June at 8pm ET/PT. The event will feature performances from Blake Shelton, Brett Eldredge, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert and Thomas Rhett.

More performers are due to be announced soon along with presenters and special guests.

“Everybody knows that CMT has a special connection with country music and the incredible fans that love it so much,” said Charles Esten. “That connection is why our show, “Nashville,” now has a perfect home on the network. It’s also why there is no other show quite like the “CMT Music Awards.” It’s a show fully dedicated to the fans and an annual chance for them to place their votes for their favorite artists. Besides always being flat-out fun, it’s also always been a stage for magical musical moments – and a place where some of country’s biggest legends have been made. I’m thrilled and honored to get to host this great event.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Esten currently stars as Deacon Claybourne in the music drama Nashville, which moved from ABC to CMT for its fifth season. The show was recently renewed for a sixth season after pulling in record ratings for its new home.

Nominations for the 2017 CMT Music Awards will be announced on Tuesday 9th May 2017. Fan voting begins the same day at and continues until Monday 5th June at 12:01 AM ET.

Guess who's hosting the #CMTawards this year on Jun 7 at 8pm. Go on. Guess!

A post shared by Charles Esten (@charles_esten) on

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like


Join us for a nostalgic tour of Granada's 1980s and 90s crime drama masterpiece.


Will we finally learn the identity of 'H'?


We pick the best deaths from the iconic franchise.


We rank the five best singles from the former One Direction star.


Copyright © 2020 Entertainment Focus

Entertainment Focus is a trading name of Piñata Media Limited (Reg no: 08435639)

Entertainment Focus uses affiliate links. By buying through the links we may receive a commission for the sale. This has no effect on the price for you